Three Tigers Receive All-SEC Baseball Recognition

by Bill Franques
Three Tigers Receive All-SEC Baseball Recognition

BATON ROUGE, La. – Three LSU players received All-SEC baseball recognition Monday in a vote of the league’s 14 head coaches.

Senior rightfielder Antoine Duplantis was named second-team All-SEC, junior outfielder Zach Watson was named to the SEC All-Defensive team for the second straight year, and right-handed pitcher Cole Henry was voted to the Freshman All-SEC squad.

Duplantis, a product of Lafayette, La., is hitting .318 (74-for-233) this season with six doubles, two triples, 11 homers, 58 RBI and 52 runs scored. He is No. 7 in the SEC in hits this season, and he is No. 6 in the league in RBI.

Duplantis has raised his LSU career hits total to 342, and he is No. 2 on the all-time LSU hits list. He needs 11 hits to become LSU’s all-time leader; former first baseman Eddy Furniss (1995-98) currently holds the LSU career hits record (352).

Duplantis is the SEC’s all-time leader in at-bats with 1,061 at-bats in his four-year career. The previous SEC career at-bats leader was outfielder Preston Tucker of Florida (1,035 at-bats, 2009-12).

The speedy Watson, who hails from Ruston, La., is regarded as one of the nation’s best centerfielders, and he has recorded a perfect 1.000 fielding percentage this season in 121 chances.

Watson is batting .317 this season with 16 doubles, five homers, 31 RBI, 45 runs and 11 steals in 11 attempts.

Henry, a native of Florence, Ala., is 4-2 this season with a 3.26 ERA in 11 appearances (eight starts). He has worked 49.2 innings while recording 60 strikeouts and limiting opponents to a .228 batting average.

Henry was named SEC Co-Freshman of the Week after defeating Florida on April 19 with a superb effort, limiting the Gators to one run on four hits in 5.1 innings with no walks and a career-high 12 strikeouts. His strikeouts total was the most by an LSU pitcher in an SEC game since March 30, 2017, when Alex Lange recorded 12 Ks against Texas A&M.

2019 SEC Baseball Awards

Player of the Year: JJ Bleday, Vanderbilt
Pitcher of the Year: Ethan Small, Mississippi State
Freshman of the Year: JT Ginn, Mississippi State
Coach of the Year: Tim Corbin, Vanderbilt
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Garrett Stallings, Tennessee

First-Team All-SEC
C: Philip Clarke, Vanderbilt
1B: Tanner Allen, Mississippi State
2B: Justin Foscue, Mississippi State
3B: Austin Martin, Vanderbilt
SS: Grae Kessinger, Ole Miss
OF: JJ Bleday, Vanderbilt
OF: Jake Mangum, Mississippi State
OF: Alerick Soularie, Tennessee
DH/UT: Nelson Maldonado, Florida
SP: Ethan Small, Mississippi State
SP: Emerson Hancock, Georgia
RP: Tyler Brown, Vanderbilt

Second-Team All-SEC Team
C: Cooper Johnson, Ole Miss
1B: Trevor Ezell, Arkansas
2B: LJ Talley, Georgia
3B: Aaron Schunk, Georgia
SS: Casey Martin, Arkansas
OF: Dominic Fletcher, Arkansas
OF: Heston Kjerstad, Arkansas
OF: Antoine Duplantis, LSU
DH/UT: Matt Goodheart, Arkansas
SP: TJ Sikkema, Missouri
SP: Zack Thompson, Kentucky
RP: Matt Cronin, Arkansas

Freshman All-SEC Team
JT Ginn, SP, Mississippi State
Kumar Rocker, SP, Vanderbilt
Doug Nikhazy, SP, Ole Miss
Cole Henry, SP, LSU
Cole Wilcox, SP, Georgia
Patrick Wicklander, SP, Arkansas
Connor Noland, SP, Arkansas
Ryan Bliss, 2B, Auburn
Christian Franklin, OF, Arkansas
Joseph Menefee, RP, Texas A&M
Kendrick Calilao, 1B, Florida
Brett Kerry, RP, South Carolina

SEC All-Defensive Team
C: Cooper Johnson, Ole Miss
1B: Trevor Ezell, Arkansas*
1B: Julian Infante, Vanderbilt*
2B: LJ Talley, Georgia
3B: Austin Martin, Vanderbilt
SS: Cam Shepherd, Georgia
OF: Dominic Fletcher, Arkansas
OF: Jake Mangum, Mississippi State
OF: Zach Watson, LSU
P: Garrett Stallings, Tennessee

*Tie (Ties are not broken)