SEC-Best Eight Teams Earn NCAA APR Public Recognition

by (@LSUsports)
SEC-Best Eight Teams Earn NCAA APR Public Recognition

BATON ROUGE ? For the second straight year, LSU stands atop the Southeastern Conference for teams earning the NCAA Public Recognition Award as eight Tiger squads received the honor this week for their exceptional work in the classroom as part of the NCAA’s Academic Performance Program.

LSU tied with Auburn for most teams in the SEC earning the award with a perfect score of 1,000.

The list of LSU teams garnering the NCAA Public Recognition Award include six women’s sports and two men’s sports. LSU’s group of award winners include: women’s cross country, women’s golf, women’s soccer, gymnastics, beach volleyball, volleyball, men’s cross country and men’s golf.

“It takes a lot of hard work and commitment to achieve at an elite level on and off the field in the SEC,” LSU Director of Athletics Scott Woodward said. “We want to be the best in all that we do, and that includes in the classroom. I’m proud to see the academic success of our student-athletes and the steady support of their coaches, Cox Academic Center staff and the incredible faculty at LSU.”

Last year, LSU set a school record by having nine of its 21 teams earn a perfect score of 1,000.

In the most recent release of the APR, 15 of LSU’s 21 sports scored at least a 970 with women’s swimming (997) and women’s basketball (994) coming up just short of a perfect score.

The recent NCAA academic accomplishment for LSU’s athletic teams continues a trend that has seen the Tigers excel in all areas monitored by the NCAA. LSU’s most recent Graduation Success Rate released in November of 2018 showed a score of 89 percent, which is just one point shy of the school’s all-time mark of 90 set in 2017.

The Cox Communications Academic Center for Student-Athletes plays a vital role in LSU’s academic success. On Friday and Saturday, 85 LSU student-athletes will graduate from the university.

“We, in the Cox Communications Academic Center for Student-Athletes, are very proud of our eight teams who are within the top 10 percent of their sport and receiving public recognition,” Kenneth Miles, LSU Assistant Vice Chancellor of Academic Affairs & Executive Director Cox Communications Academic Center for Student-Athletes said. “It is truly a collective effort from the CCACSA team, School & College advisers, Academic Affairs, Athletics, Tiger Athletics Foundation, Faculty Athletics Representative, and the student-athletes. Their unwavering commitment does not go unnoticed and is reflected within our successes.”

Six of LSU’s eight sports that earned the NCAA Public Recognition for work in the classroom also advanced to NCAA postseason play with two out of the group winning SEC titles.

LSU’s gymnastics team finished as the NCAA runner-up after claiming its third straight SEC title; the beach volleyball team recorded the highest-finish in school history with a third place showing at the NCAA Tournament; women’s soccer won its first ?ever SEC Championship last fall and reached the second round of the NCAA Tournament; men’s and women’s golf advanced to the NCAA Regionals; while the men’s swimming and diving team placed 26th nationally.

Each year the NCAA honors selected sports teams by publicly recognizing their latest multiyear NCAA Academic Progress Rate (APR). This announcement is part of the overall NCAA academic reform effort and is intended to highlight teams that demonstrate a commitment to academic progress and retention of student-athletes by achieving the top APRs within their respective sports. Specifically, these teams posted multiyear APRs in the top 10 percent of all squads in each sport.

The APR provides a real-time look at a team’s academic success each semester by tracking the academic progress of each student-athlete on scholarship. The APR accounts for eligibility, retention and graduation and provides a measure of each team’s academic performance.

The most recent APRs are multi-year rates based on scores from the 2014-15, 2015-16, 2016-17, and 2017-18 academic years.