T&F Passes Out 2018 Awards at Alumni Banquet

by LSUsports.net (@LSUsports)
T&F Passes Out 2018 Awards at Alumni Banquet

Baton Rouge, La. – Current and former members of the LSU track and field team gathered at the Renaissance Hotel on Friday evening to celebrate Alumni Weekend. The whole goal of Alumni Weekend is to focus on the success of current student-athletes while also revisiting the tremendous successes of alumni from all periods of competition.

The biggest guest alumni in the building on Friday night was Revey Scott. Back in 1979, Scott, along with Efrem Coley, Greg Hill, and Pearson Jordan, became the first relay in school history to win a national title. The foursome teamed up in the 4×400 meter relay and clocked a winning time of 3:04.67.

Damion Thomas and Aleia Hobbs were named the Most Outstanding Performer(s) of the Year for their successful 2018 campaigns. Hobbs won national titles in the 60 meters, 100 meters, and 4×100 meter relay to go out in fashion. Hobbs anchored the 4×100 meter relay to gold and a collegiate record of 42.05 at the SEC Championships. She won her first-career outdoor national title in the 100 meters with a time of 11.01 into a headwind. The time of 11.01 was the fastest time in collegiate history run into the headwind. She won her first ever indoor national title with a collegiate record of 7.07 seconds in the 60 meters in College Station, Texas.

Thomas was the recipient of the Glenn ‘Slats’ Hardin Most Outstanding Performer award. A freshman in 2018, Thomas took bronze in the 110 meter hurdles at the NCAA Championships, and he won a U20 world title while representing Jamaica in July of 2018. Thomas is the U20 world record holder with a career best of 12.99 seconds. Thomas was also awarded with the Newcomer of the Year award. A full list of winners from the 2018 season can be found below.

Newcomer of the Year

Damion Thomas & Abby O’Donoghue

Cross Country Runner of the Year

Harrison Martingayle & Julia Palin

Kenner Day Academic & Athletic Accomplishment Award

Jake Norris

Academic & Athletic Accomplishment Award

Mikiah Brisco

Most Improved Athlete

Rayvon Grey & Kaitlyn Walker

Kirt Bennett Community Service Award

Dajour Braxton

Community Service Award

Mikiah Brisco

Most Outstanding Field Athlete

Jake Norris & Abby O’Donoghue

Most Outstanding Track Athlete

Jaron Flournoy & Women’s 4×1 (Mikiah Brisco, Kortnei Johnson, Rachel Misher, Aleia Hobbs)

Academic Achievement Award

Harrison Martingayle & Ashley Welborn

Eye of the Tiger Award

Jaron Flournoy & Kymber Payne

LeJuan Simon Perseverance Award

JuVaughn Harrison

L Club Captain Award

Jack Wilkes, Mikiah Brisco, Aleia Hobbs

Most Outstanding Performer

Aleia Hobbs

Glenn ‘Slats’ Hardin Most Outstanding Performer Award

Damion Thomas