Mitchell and Pointer Named All-Louisiana

by Judy Willson
Mitchell and Pointer Named All-Louisiana

BATON ROUGE – LSU forward Ayana Mitchell and guard Khayla Pointer have been named to the 2019 All-Louisiana Team today by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association. Voting was conducted by media members from around the state and the state’s sports information directors.

Mitchell, a redshirt junior, was named to the All-Louisiana First Team for her accomplishments during the 2018-19 season. The Conyers, Georgia, native finished the season ranked 24th in the nation and second in the SEC, shooting a 56.3 field goal percentage to lead LSU. Mitchell was 30th in the nation and third in the SEC in rebounds per game at 10.5 and was 20th in the nation and second in the league with 16 double-doubles. An All-SEC First Team selection, she was 18th in the nation and third in the SEC in offensive rebounds (4.0) and third in the SEC defensive rebounds (6.5) per game. Mitchell ranked 17th in the SEC with 13.5 points per game and tied for 11th in steals per game (1.7). She is 25th in minutes played at 30.8 minutes per game. Against Auburn on March 3, Mitchell grabbed a career-high 21 rebounds and became the 15th Lady Tiger to crack the 700 career rebounds mark.

Pointer was named to the All-Louisiana Third Team. The sophomore point guard led LSU and was fifth in the SEC with 4.5 assists per game. A native of Kennesaw, Georgia, she also finished the season ranked 21st in points per game (12.5) and tied for 11th in steals per game (1.7) in the SEC. Pointer recorded 16 games of five assists or more during the season, including a career-high 12 assists against McNeese for the first double-double of her career (12 points). 

Follow Along on Social Media

Follow updates on LSU women’s basketball on Twitter and Instagram at @LSUwbkb or on Facebook at


Louisiana Sports Writers Association Women’s Basketball Awards

LSWA First Team All-Louisiana
Ayana Mitchell, LSU
Kierra Anthony, Louisiana Tech
Cassidy Barrios, Nicholls

Danyale Bayonne, LSU-Alexandria
Shakyla Hill, Grambling State

LSWA Second Team All-Louisiana
Monette Bolden, Bossier Parish CC
Krystal Freeman, Tulane

Jas Hill, Xavier
Kelsey Thaxton, LSU-Alexandria
Alyssa Washington, Dillard

LSWA Third Team All-Louisiana
Khayla Pointer, LSU
Kaila Anthony, Loyola
Arsula Clark, ULM
Brandi Williams, UL Lafayette
Shania Woods, New Orleans

LSWA Honorable Mention All-Louisiana
Ty’Reona Doucet, UL Lafayette
Celica Sterling, Southeastern
Kayla Watson, Baton Rouge CC
Megan Worry, Loyola

Player of the Year: Cassidy Barrios, Nicholls
Freshman of the Year: Kelsey Thaxton, LSU-Alexandria
Newcomer of the Year: Jas Hill, Xavier
Coach of the Year: Bo Browder, Xavier