LSU's Waters Receives AP All-America Mention

by (@LSUsports)
LSU's Waters Receives AP All-America Mention

BATON ROUGE – LSU sophomore point guard Tremont Waters was named honorable mention on the Associated Press All-America basketball team announced on Tuesday.

Waters, a first-team All-SEC selection and the league’s Co-Defensive Player of the Year, led LSU to the Southeastern Conference championship, the NCAA Sweet 16 and a 28-7 record. The Tigers were 9-0 on the road in the league, won 16 league games and finished with the second most wins in school history.

Waters averaged a team best 15.3 points a game with 56 treys. He averaged 5.8 assists per game and 2.91 steals with a 1.68 assist-to-turnover ratio. The New Haven, Connecticut native is tied for the lead league in assists average and in leading the SEC in steals average, set an LSU record with a total of 96 steals.

Waters was one of five players from the SEC to be listed on the AP All-America squad with Grant Williams of Tennessee (first team), PJ Washington of Kentucky (third team) and other HMs Daniel Gafford of Arkansas and Admiral Schofield of Tennessee.

2019 AP Men’s Basketball All-America Teams

First Team
Zion Williamson, Duke, freshman
Grant Williams, Tennessee, junior
RJ Barrett, Duke, freshman
Ja Morant, Murray State, sophomore
Cassius Winston, Michigan State, junior

Second Team
Rui Hachimura, Gonzaga, junior
Jarrett Culver, Texas Tech, sophomore
Markus Howard, Marquette, junior
Ethan Happ, Wisconsin, senior
Carsen Edwards, Purdue, junior

Third Team
De’Andre Hunter, Virginia, junior
Dedric Lawson, Kansas, junior
Brandon Clarke, Gonzaga, junior
PJ Washington, Kentucky, sophomore
Kyle Guy, Virginia, junior

Honorable Mention (alphabetical order)
Keith Braxton, St. Francis (Pa.); Ignas Brazdeikis, Michigan; Tookie Brown, Georgia Southern; Chris Clemons, Campbell; RJ Cole, Howard; Jeremy Combs, Texas Southern; Jarron Cumberland, Cincinnati; Mike Daum, South Dakota State; Jordan Davis, Northern Colorado; Cameron Delaney, Sam Houston State; Lamine Diane, Cal State Northridge; Daniel Gafford, Arkansas; Jon Axel Gudmundsson, Davidson; Rapolas Ivanauskas, Colgate; Ty Jerome, Virginia; Cameron Johnson, North Carolina; Anthony Lamb, Vermont; Fletcher Magee, Wofford; Caleb Martin, Nevada; CJ Massinburg, Buffalo; Garrison Mathews, Lipscomb; Luke Maye, North Carolina; Drew McDonald, Northern Kentucky; Sam Merrill, Utah State; Jaylen Nowell, Washington; Miye Oni, Yale; Shamorie Ponds, St. John’s; Myles Powell, Seton Hall; Admiral Schofield, Tennessee; Marial Shayok, Iowa State; B.J. Stith, Old Dominion; Matisse Thybulle, Washington; Jake Toolson, Utah Valley; Marques Townes, Loyola of Chicago; Tremont Waters, LSU; Coby White, North Carolina; Justin Wright-Foreman, Hofstra; Cameron Young, Quinnipiac.