LSU Gold

Tremont Waters On 10-Player List For Cousy Award

by (@LSUsports)
Will Wade Press Conference - Feb. 4 Inside LSU Basketball - Show 7 +0
Tremont Waters On 10-Player List For Cousy Award

BATON ROUGE – LSU sophomore guard Tremont Waters has been named one of the 10 candidates for the 2019 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award.

Named after Class of 1971 Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic and Holy Cross guard Bob Cousy, the annual honor now in its sixteenth year recognizes the top point guards in Division I men’s college basketball. A national committee comprising top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates in October, which has now been narrowed to just 10.

“For more than fifteen years, the Cousy Award has recognized the top collegiate point guard annually, forming a fraternity of honorees who have gone on to have tremendous success in the game,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “The ten players on this list exhibit many of the characteristics that made Bob Cousy a world-class point guard and they should be proud to be recognized for their efforts at this juncture in the season.”

Bob Cousy played for Holy Cross from 1946-1950 winning an NCAA Championship in 1947. He was named a Consensus First-Team All-American in 1950. His success continued at the professional level as a six-time NBA Champion (1957, 1959-1963), NBA Most Valuable Player (1957) and 13-time NBA All-Star (1951-63). In 1996, he was named a member of the NBA’s 50th Anniversary All-Time Team.

Waters is averaging 15.1 points per game and over 19 points in league play while averaging 6.0 assists per game and 3.0 steals a game. He is first in the SEC in steals per game and fifth in the nation. He is third in the league in assists per game and 24th in the country. He is tenth in the SEC in assist-to-turnover ratio. He has had four games this season of 10 assists or more.

In March, five finalists will be presented to Mr. Cousy and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The winner of the 2019 Bob Cousy Award will be presented at The College Basketball Awards presented by Wendy’s in Los Angeles, CA on Friday, April 12, 2019, along with the other four members of the Naismith Starting 5. Additional awards being presented and receiving support from Eaton Ephesus Lighting include the Jerry West Shooting Guard Award, the Julius Erving Small Forward Award, the Karl Malone Power Forward Award and the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center Award. Broadcast information will be released by ESPN at a later date.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award include Jalen Brunson, Villanova (2018), Frank Mason III, Kansas (2017), Tyler Ulis, Kentucky (2016), Delon Wright, Utah (2015), Shabazz Napier, Connecticut (2014), Trey Burke, Michigan (2013), Kendall Marshall, North Carolina (2012), Kemba Walker, Connecticut (2011), Greivis Vasquez, Maryland (2010), Ty Lawson, North Carolina (2009), DJ Augustin, Texas (2008), Acie Law, Texas A & M (2007), Dee Brown, Illinois (2006), Raymond Felton, North Carolina (2005) and Jameer Nelson, St. Joseph’s (2004).

2019 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award Candidates
Josh Perkins — Gonzaga
Tremont Waters — LSU
Markus Howard — Marquette
Cassius Winston — Michigan State
Ja Morant — Murray State
Cody Martin — Nevada
Carsen Edwards — Purdue
Jordan Bone — Tennessee
Ty Jerome — Virginia
Justin Robinson — Virginia Tech
*Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2018-19 season*