LSU Gold

Delpit One of Five Finalists for Nagurski Award

by Michael Bonnette (@LSUBonnette)
Delpit One of Five Finalists for Nagurski Award

BATON ROUGE – LSU safety Grant Delpit has been named one of five finalist for the 2018 Bronko Nagurski Trophy – presented annually to the nation’s top defensive player by the Football Writers Association of America and the Charlotte Touchdown Club – the organizations announced on Wednesday.

Delpit is joined on the list by Kentucky linebacker Josh Allen, Michigan linebacker Devin Bush, Clemson defensive tackle Christian Wilkins and Alabama nose guard Quinnen Williams.

Delpit, a sophomore from Houston, currently leads the SEC and ranks No. 2 in the nation in interceptions with five. He’s also first in the league in passes defended (11) and ranks among the top 20 in the conference in sacks (No. 11 with 5.0) and tackles for loss (No. 14 with 9.5). In 10 games, Delpit has recorded 63 tackles to go along with four quarterback hurries, one forced fumble and a fumble recovery.

As a unit, LSU’s defense is allowing only 16.7 points and 343.4 total yards a contest. The Tigers have al-lowed only one first quarter TD all season, have forced turnover in every game this year and rank No. 9 in the nation in turnovers gained with 22 in 2018.

A mid-season All-America by several national news outlets, Delpit was named both SEC Defensive Player of the Week and Bednarik Award National Player of the Week for his performance in LSU’s 19-3 win over Mississippi State in late October.

LSU’s Glenn Dorsey claimed the 2007 Nagurski Award after helping the Tigers to a 12-2 overall mark and the school’s third national title that year. Dorsey later went on to become a first round draft pick, being selected fifth overall by the Kansas City Chiefs in the 2008 NFL Draft.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy recipient will be chosen from these five finalists by the FWAA All-America Committee after voting input from the association’s entire membership.

The annual Bronko Nagurski Trophy Banquet, presented by ACN, will be held on Mon., Dec. 3 at the Char-lotte Convention Center.