Palin Places 36th at SEC Cross Country Championships

by (@LSUsports)
Women's SEC Results Men's SEC Results +0
Palin Places 36th at SEC Cross Country Championships

Auburn, Ala. –  Julia Palin led the way for the LSU women’s cross country team on Friday morning at the Indian Pines Golf Course on her way to a 36th-place finish to help the Lady Tigers finish 11th at the SEC Championships.

Full Results

Palin, who was running at the first conference meet of her career, notched a personal-best time of 20:28.4 while covering the 6k course to finish in 36th place. She came through the halfway point of the race in 48th place with a 3k split of 10:15.4 before trekking the last half of the race in 10:13.0 to move up 12 spots in the standings. Fellow freshman Katy-Ann McDonald had the best race of her collegiate cross country career as she came through the finishing chute in 45th place with a readout of 20:36.2. She improved her positioning over the last half of the race as well moving up about 10 spots.

Hollie Parker was LSU’s third finisher of the day with a 6k time of 20:48.2 to finish in 57th place. Hannah Bourque (21:02.6) and Alicia Stamey (21:12.6) were the final two scorers on the women’s side with 71st and 84th-place finishes, respectively. For Bourque, she closed out her SEC career by scoring at all four SEC cross country meets and for Stamey it was her second-straight time scoring at the conference meet. The 11th-place showing for the women was their best finish at the conference meet since 2012.

Harrison Martingayle continued his fine display of running as LSU’s low stick. Martingayle traversed the 8k course with a time of 24:07.8 to place 46th in the men’s race. It was the third time this season that Martingayle has been the men’s top finisher at a meet.

Adam Wise had a decent showing at the first conference meet of his career with a 67th-place finish with an 8k time of 24:35.8. Eric Coston came through the finishing chute about 30 seconds after Wise with a time of 25:05.3 to claim 79th place. Kyle Montgomery (25:37.2/94th) and Blake Baldassaro (25:46.4/98th) closed out the scoring performances for the men’s squad that finished in 12th place.

The Arkansas women won their sixth-straight league title, while the Ole Miss men claimed their first SEC title in program history.

Women – 6k

11th Place – 275 points

Julia Palin – 36th – 20:28.4

Katy-Ann McDonald – 45th – 20:36.2

Hollie Parker – 57th – 20:48.2

Hannah Bourque – 71st – 21:02.6

Alicia Stamey – 84th – 21:12.6

Sara Funderburk – 117th – 21:53.8

Erika Lewis – 118th – 21:58.2

Monica Guillot – 126th – 22:24.0

Men – 8k

12th place – 335 points

Harrison Martingayle – 46th – 24:07.8

Adam Wise – 67th – 24:35.8

Eric Coston – 79th – 25:05.3

Kyle Montgomery – 94th – 25:37.2

Blake Baldassaro – 98th – 25:46.4

Thomas Laville Jr. – 99th – 25:59.9

Garrett Hamilton – 103rd – 26:50.4