Former Captains Selected "Next Great 25"

by Michael Bonnette (@LSUBonnette)
Former Captains Selected "Next Great 25"

BATON ROUGE – As part of LSU’s celebration of 125 seasons of football in 2018, the school has released “The Next Great 25,” a team comprised of the 25 best players by position over the past quarter century. The team was selected by the permanent team captains from 1993-2017.

For players to be placed on the ballot, they had to fall under one of the following categories: First Team All-America, First-Team All-SEC, or first round NFL Draft pick. The team consists of 11 players on offense and defense along with three specialists.

The “Next Great 25” serves as a compliment to LSU’s Team of the Century, which was selected as part of the school’s Centennial Football Celebration in 1993.

LSU’s “Next Great 25” Team (1993-2018)
C Ben Wilkerson, 2001-04
OL Andrew Whitworth, 2002-05
OL Alan Faneca, 1995-97
OL La’el Collins, 2011-14
OL Trai Turner, 2012-13
QB Matt Flynn, 2004-07
RB Leonard Fournette, 2014-16
RB Kevin Faulk, 1995-98
WR Odell Beckham Jr., 2011-13
WR Josh Reed, 1999-2001
WR Michael Clayton, 2001-03

DL Glenn Dorsey, 2004-07
DL Kyle Williams, 2002-05
DL Marcus Spears, 2001-04
DL Anthony McFarland, 1995-98
LB Bradie James, 1999-2002
LB Ali Highsmith, 2004-07
LB Kelvin Sheppard, 2007-10
DB Patrick Peterson, 2008-10
DB Tyrann Mathieu, 2010-11
DB LaRon Landry, 2003-06
DB Corey Webster, 2001-04

Special Teams
RS Trindon Holliday, 2006-09
PK Colt David, 2005-08
P Donnie Jones, 1999-2003