LSU's Naz Reid Named To Abdul-Jabbar Watch List

by Kent Lowe (@LSUkent)
LSU's Naz Reid Named To Abdul-Jabbar Watch List

BATON ROUGE – LSU freshman Naz Reid is part of a list of 21 watch list players announced Friday by The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame for the 2019 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center of the Year Award.

Named after Class of 1995 Hall of Famer and three-time NCAA Champion Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, the annual honor in its fifth year recognizes the top centers in men’s college basketball. A national committee comprising top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 21 candidates.

“Rounding out our Naismith Starting 5 is an award in honor of a man whose talent and accolades are unparalleled,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “Kareem Abdul-Jabbar built a legacy at UCLA and continued his winning ways as a pro. We’re grateful for his involvement in our college positional awards and the time and thought he dedicates toward selecting a recipient come April.”

Kareem Abdul-Jabbar played for legendary coach and Hall of Famer John Wooden at the University of California, Los Angeles from 1966-1969. He is a three-time NCAA Champion who earned numerous accolades including three-time Final Four Most Outstanding Player, three-time National College Player of the Year and three-time Consensus First-Team All-American (1967-1969). As a professional, Abdul-Jabbar is a six-time NBA Champion, six-time NBA Most Valuable Player, two-time NBA Finals MVP, 19-time NBA All-Star and the league’s all-time leading scorer.

Reid, from Asbury Park, New Jersey and Roselle Catholic High School, is a five-star recruit after averaging 14.8 points, 7.7 rebounds and 2.1 assists in his senior season prior to coming to LSU. His team won the non-public Class B state title game, 63-61 when Reid scored an alley-oop dunk with 6.3 seconds to play. He also participated in the McDonald’s All-Star game with 15 points and 11 rebounds this past summer.

By mid-February, the watch list of 21 players for the 2019 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center of the Year Award will be narrowed down to just 10. In March, five finalists will be presented to Mr. Abdul-Jabbar and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The winner of the 2019 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award will be presented at The College Basketball Awards presented by Wendy’s in Los Angeles, CA on Friday, April 12, 2019, along with the other four members of the Naismith Starting 5. Additional awards being presented and receiving support from Eaton Ephesus Lighting include the Bob Cousy Point Guard Award, the Jerry West Shooting Guard Award, the Julius Erving Small Forward Award and the Karl Malone Power Forward Award. Broadcast information will be released by ESPN at a later date.

Previous winners of the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center of the Year Award include Angel Delgado, Seton Hall (2018), Przemek Karnowski, Gonzaga (2017), Jakob Poeltl, Utah (2016) and Frank Kaminsky, Wisconsin (2015).

For more information and the latest updates on the 2019 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, log onto and follow @hoophall and #KareemAward on Twitter and Instagram.

LSU opens its 2018-19 basketball season on November 6 against Southeastern Louisiana at 7:30 p.m. after the Lady Tigers open their season at 5:30 p.m. Season ticket information is available at the LSU Athletics Ticket Office or online at

2019 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center of the Year Award Candidates
Daniel Gafford/Arkansas
Austin Wiley/Auburn
James Thompson IV/Eastern Michigan
Jessie Govan /Georgetown
Killian Tillie/Gonzaga
Alessandro Lever/Grand Canyon
Udoka Azubuike/Kansas
Nick Richards/Kentucky
Cameron Krutwig/Loyola Chicago
Naz Reid/LSU
Jalen Smith/Maryland
Dewan Hernandez/Miami
Nick Ward/Michigan St.
Jontay Porter/Missouri
Bol Bol/ Oregon
Tacko Fall/UCF
Moses Brown/UCLA
James Dickey/UNC Greensboro
Charles Bassey/Western Kentucky
Nathan Knight/William & Mary
Ethan Happ/Wisconsin

*Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2018-19 season*

About the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame
Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the city where basketball was born, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame is an independent non-profit 501(c)(3) organization dedicated to promoting, preserving and celebrating the game of basketball at every level – men and women, amateur and professional players, coaches and contributors, both domestically and internationally. The Hall of Fame museum is home to more than 400 inductees and over 40,000 square feet of basketball history. Nearly 200,000 people visit the Hall of Fame museum each year to learn about the game, experience the interactive exhibits and test their skills on the Jerry Colangelo “Court of Dreams.” Best known for its annual marquee Enshrinement Ceremony honoring the game’s elite, the Hall of Fame also operates over 70 high school and collegiate competitions annually throughout the country and abroad. For more information on the Basketball Hall of Fame organization, its museum and events, visit, follow @hoophall or call 1-877-4HOOPLA.