Tremont Waters Named to Bob Cousy Watch List

by Kent Lowe (@LSUkent)
Tremont Waters Named to Bob Cousy Watch List

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – LSU sophomore point guard Tremont Waters was announced Monday on the list of 20 watch candidates for the 2019 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award. The announcement was made by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

Named after Class of 1971 Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic and Holy Cross guard Bob Cousy, the annual honor now in its sixteenth year recognizes the top point guards in Division I men’s college basketball. A national committee comprising top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.

“For more than fifteen years, the Cousy Award has recognized the top collegiate point guard annually, forming a fraternity of honorees who have gone on to have tremendous success in the game,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “They exhibit many of the characteristics that made Bob Cousy a tremendous player and floor general and we are excited to watch the men on this watch list as the season progresses.”

Waters had an outstanding freshman campaign, being named All-SEC freshman in 2018 in helping the Tigers to an 18-15 record and the second round of the NIT.

Waters averaged 15.9 points per game, 3.4 rebounds, 6.0 assists and 2.0 steals per game, starting 32-of-33 games. He finished the season with 198 assists, topping the school record for freshman of 158 set in 2016 by Ben Simmons. Waters’ 198 total was the second most in a season by any LSU player. He scored in double figures in 21 games with five double doubles.

He was the first LSU freshman since database records were kept beginning with the 1992-93 season to average 15 points and five assists in a season (first in the SEC since John Wall of Kentucky in 2010).

Season tickets are presently available for LSU Basketball at the LSU Athletics Ticket Office and The 2018-19 season opens on Nov. 6 against Southeastern in the second game of a doubleheader at 7:30 p.m. following the opener for the LSU Women’s Basketball team. 

Bob Cousy played for Holy Cross from 1946-1950 winning an NCAA Championship in 1947. He was named a Consensus First-Team All-American in 1950. His success continued at the professional level as a six-time NBA Champion (1957, 1959-1963), NBA Most Valuable Player (1957) and 13-time NBA All-Star (1951-63). In 1996, he was named a member of the NBA’s 50th Anniversary All-Time Team.

By mid-February, the watch list of 20 players for the 2019 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award will be narrowed to just 10. In March, five finalists will be presented to Mr. Cousy and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The winner of the 2019 Bob Cousy Award will be presented at The College Basketball Awards presented by Wendy’s in Los Angeles, CA on Friday, April 12, 2019, along with the other four members of the Naismith Starting 5.

Additional awards being presented and receiving support from Eaton Ephesus Lighting include the Jerry West Shooting Guard Award, the Julius Erving Small Forward Award, the Karl Malone Power Forward Award and the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center Award. Broadcast information will be released by ESPN at a later date.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award include Jalen Brunson, Villanova (2018), Frank Mason III, Kansas (2017), Tyler Ulis, Kentucky (2016), Delon Wright, Utah (2015), Shabazz Napier, Connecticut (2014), Trey Burke, Michigan (2013), Kendall Marshall, North Carolina (2012), Kemba Walker, Connecticut (2011), Greivis Vasquez, Maryland (2010), Ty Lawson, North Carolina (2009), DJ Augustin, Texas (2008), Acie Law, Texas A & M (2007), Dee Brown, Illinois (2006), Raymond Felton, North Carolina (2005) and Jameer Nelson, St. Joseph’s (2004).

For more information on the 2019 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award and the latest updates, log onto and follow @hoophall on Twitter and Instagram.

2019 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award Candidates
Jared Harper/Auburn
Ky Bowman/Boston College
Tre Jones/Duke
Josh Perkins/Gonzaga
Devon Dotson/Kansas
Tremont Waters/LSU
Markus Howard/Marquette
Jon Elmore/Marshall
Cassius Winston/Michigan State
Cody Martin/Nevada
Ahmad Carver/Old Dominion
Payton Pritchard/Oregon
Carsen Edwards/Purdue
Shamorie Ponds/St. John’s
Alex Robinson/TCU
Jordan Bone/Tennessee
Jaylen Hands/UCLA
Jahvon Quinerly/Villanova
Ty Jerome/Virginia
Justin Robinson/Virginia Tech
*Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2018-19 season*