Six Awards from LSWA for Track and Field

by Aaron Hyder
Six Awards from LSWA for Track and Field

Baton Rouge, La. – The LSU track and field team had six honorees for the end of the year outdoor track and field awards presented by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association on Tuesday.

Jaron Flournoy (Men’s Track Athlete of the Year), Aleia Hobbs (Women’s Track Athlete of the Year), Jake Norris (Men’s Field Athlete of the Year), Damion Thomas (Men’s Freshman of the Year), Ersula Farrow (Women’s Newcomer of the Year) and Dennis Shaver (Co-Women’s Coach of the Year) were the recipients of the awards from LSU.

Hobbs won the NCAA indoor 60 meters with a collegiate record setting time of 7.07 seconds in March. During the outdoor season, she won the second and third national titles of her career with a win in the 100 meter dash (11.01) and anchoring the 4×100 meter relay to gold with a readout of 42.25. The senior from New Orleans was a semifinalist for the Bowerman Award and she was also named the 2018 USTFCCCA Outdoor Track Athlete of the Year.

Flournoy earned first team All-America honors in the 200 meter dash and 4×400 meter relay at the NCAA Championships. He anchored the third-place NCAA 4×400 meter relay to the third fastest time in school history (3:00.56) and placed fourth in the 200 meter dash (20.26) at the national meet. He also won an SEC title in the 4×100 meter relay by serving as the anchor leg to help the squad record a winning time of 38.76.

A bronze showing at the NCAA Championships in the hammer throw helped Jake Norris win the Men’s Field Athlete of the Year honor. The freshman from England registered a career best and school-record throw of 73.24 meters (240-03) at the national meet to score six points for LSU at the national meet. He captured five hammer throw wins during the outdoor season including three at Louisiana meets – Louisiana Classics (232-10), Battle on the Bayou (229-09) and the LSU Alumni Gold meet (235-04).

Thomas claimed a third-place finish at his first NCAA outdoor meet with a readout of 13.45 seconds in the 110 meter hurdles. His wind-legal season best of 13.44 is the second-fastest time to ever be run by an athlete at LSU. The native of Sunrise, Fla., also took home third-place honors at the SEC Championships.

Farrow finished sixth at the SEC Championships in the 800 meter run with a finals time of 2:07.66. She represented LSU at the NCAA East Preliminaries in the 800 meter run. She won one title during the 2018 outdoor season with a winning time of 4:23.10 in the 1,500 meter run. Her career-best time of 4:20.99 in the 1,500 meter run that she clocked at the LSU Invitational ranks her as the ninth-best 1,500 meter runner in  LSU history.

Shaver led the LSU women to sixth-place finishes at both the indoor and outdoor NCAA meets. His coaching was instrumental in the LSU women’s 4×100 meter relay clocking three of the six fastest 4×1 times in NCAA history during 2018. The 4×100 meter relay – Mikiah Brisco, Kortnei Johnson, Rachel Misher, Aleia Hobbs – finished up 2018 with an unblemished record of 10-0 and they were crowned national champions.