Forty-Five Tigers on SEC First-Year Academic Honor Roll

by Judy Willson
Forty-Five Tigers on SEC First-Year Academic Honor Roll

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Forty-five LSU student-athletes were named to the 2017-18 First-Year SEC Academic Honor Roll on Wednesday by Commissioner Greg Sankey. The First-Year accolades are based on grades from the 2017-18 academic calendar.


The women’s soccer and women’s swimming & diving teams led the way for LSU with six student-athletes honored from each squad, including All-SEC Second Team defender Chiara Ritchie-Williams.


Five members of the women’s track & field team were recognized, led by All-SEC Second Team honoree Zakiya Denoon from the 4x400m relay squad.


The gymnastics, softball, beach volleyball and men’s swimming & diving teams placed four representatives each on the First-Year Honor Roll.


NCAA doubles national champion Eden Richardson represented the women’s tennis team, one of five LSU teams to have two honorees on the list. The baseball, women’s basketball, football and volleyball teams also had two honorees from each squad. Trey Winstead and Kendall Griffin represented the men’s and women’s golf teams on the honor roll.


Any student-athlete who participates in an SEC championship sport or is a student-athlete who participates in a sport listed on his/her institution’s NCAA Sports Sponsorship Form is eligible for nomination to the Academic Honor Roll. The following criteria is applied for nomination:


(1) A student-athlete must have a grade point average of 3.00 or above for either the preceding academic year (two semesters or three quarters) or have a cumulative grade point average of 3.00 or above at the nominating institution.

(2) If a student-athlete attends summer school, his/her grade point average during the summer academic term must be included in the calculation used to determine eligibility for the Academic Honor Roll.

(3) Student-athletes eligible for the Honor Roll include those receiving an athletics scholarship, recipients of an athletics award (i.e. letterwinner), and non-scholarship student-athletes who have been on a varsity team for two seasons.

(4) Prior to being nominated, a student-athlete must have successfully completed 24 semester or 36 quarter hours of non-remedial academic credit toward a baccalaureate degree at the nominating institution.

(5) The student-athlete must have been a member of a varsity team for the sport’s entire NCAA Championship segment.


LSU Members of the 2017-18 First-Year SEC Academic Honor Roll

Brandt Broussard, Baseball, General Business

Hal Hughes, Baseball, Sport Administration

Khayla Pointer, Women’s Basketball, Undeclared

Rakell Spencer, Women’s Basketball, Sport Administration

Tatum Ballard, Beach Volleyball, General Business

Hunter Domanski, Beach Volleyball, Chemical Engineering

Haleigh Nelson, Beach Volleyball, Master of Business Administration

Savannah Wininger, Beach Volleyball, Finance

K’Lavon Chaisson, Football , Undeclared

Breiden Fehoko, Football , Communication Studies

Trey Winstead, Men’s Golf, General Business

Kendall Griffin, Women’s Golf, Business

Christina Desiderio, Gymnastics, Undeclared

Sarah Edwards, Gymnastics, Environmental Engineering

Olivia Gunter, Gymnastics, Mass Communication

Gracen Standley, Gymnastics, Sport Administration

Lindsey Eaton, Soccer, General Business

Haley Garrett, Soccer, Animal Science

Alexis Larimore, Soccer, Biology

Lucy Parker, Soccer, Kinesiology

Dana Reed, Soccer, Communication Studies

Chiara Ritchie-Williams, Soccer, Economics

CC Caccamise, Softball, Kinesiology

Michaela Schlattman, Softball, Sport Administration

Becca Schulte, Softball, Sport Administration

Shelbi Sunseri, Softball, Communication Disorders

Dakota Hurbis, Men’s Swimming & Diving, Finance

Cameron Karkoska, Men’s Swimming & Diving, Sport Administration

Braden Nyboer, Men’s Swimming & Diving, Biological Sciences

Luca Pfyffer, Men’s Swimming & Diving, Mechanical Engineering

Leyre Casarin, Women’s Swimming & Diving, Mass Communication

Kit Hanley, Women’s Swimming & Diving, Mass Communication

Alyssa Helak, Women’s Swimming & Diving, Accounting

Cassie Kalisz, Women’s Swimming & Diving, Mass Communication

Miranda Nichols, Women’s Swimming & Diving, Studio Art

Katie Smith, Women’s Swimming & Diving, Petroleum Engineering

Ashton Rabalais, Women’s Tennis, Psychology

Eden Richardson, Women’s Tennis, General Business

Kristin Delgado, Women’s Track & Field, Biology

Zakiya Denoon, Women’s Track & Field, Sport Administration

Amber Desselle, Women’s Track & Field, Biology

Cori Mitchell, Women’s Track & Field, Sport Administration

Alicia Stamey, Women’s Track & Field, Kinesiology

Raigen Cianciulli, Volleyball, Nutrition and Food Science

Nicole Decker, Volleyball, General Business