Shane Monroe Earns All-SEC Second Team Honors

by Alissa Cavaretta
Shane Monroe Earns All-SEC Second Team Honors

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. — LSU men’s tennis junior Shane Monroe was named to the All-SEC Second Team the league office announced Thursday.

Monroe was the Tigers’ court one mainstay and sits at No. 73 in the ITA singles rankings. He compiled 10 wins in the dual season, including two against ranked opponents. The junior worked a three-set thriller against South Carolina’s No. 24 Gabriel Friedrich, 2-6, 7-5, 1-0(7) and compiled a straight-set win against Alabama’s No. 92 Mazen Osama.

“After being out of college tennis for a year and a half due to transferring to LSU, it is a great accomplishment for Shane to be named to the all-conference team,” co-head coach Chris Brandi said. “He has improved tremendously since the season began, and it shows how committed he is to tennis. He should be very proud, and we are all very excited to see what’s in store for him as a senior next season.”

The Tigers now have 81 All-SEC selections in LSU history, and Monroe became the first LSU player to garner all-conference honors under co-head coaches Andy Brandi and Chris Brandi.

Social Center
For up-to-date information and behind-the-scenes access on the Tigers, fans can follow the LSU men’s tennis team on Twitter and Instagram at @lsutennis and on Facebook at
First Team All-SEC
Mazen Osama, Alabama
Jose Salazar, Arkansas
Oliver Crawford, Florida
Alfredo Perez, Florida
Will Bushamuka, Kentucky
Ryotaro Matsumura, Kentucky
Tim Sandkaulen, Ole Miss
Nuno Borges, Mississippi State
Giovanni Oradini, Mississippi State
Strahinja Rakic, Mississippi State
Gabriel Friedrich, South Carolina
Timo Stodder, Tennessee
Patrick Kypson, Texas A&M
Arthur Rinderknech, Texas A&M
Cameron Klinger, Vanderbilt
Daniel Valent, Vanderbilt

Second Team All-SEC
Edson Ortiz, Alabama
Matteo DeVincentis, Auburn
Johannes Ingildsen. Florida
Wayne Montgomery, Georgia
Nathan Ponwith, Georgia
Jan Zielinski, Georgia
Trey Yates, Kentucky
Shane Monroe, LSU
Gustav Hansson, Ole Miss
Niclas Braun, Mississippi State
Paul Jubb, South Carolina
Scott Jones, Tennessee
Juan Carlos Aguilar, Texas A&M
Jordi Arconada, Texas A&M
Valentin Vacherot, Texas A&M
Baker Newman, Vanderbilt

Matteo DeVincentis, Auburn
Oliver Crawford, Florida
Florian Broska, Mississippi State
Juan Carlos Aguilar, Texas A&M
Patrick Kypson, Texas A&M
George Harwell, Vanderbilt

Player of the Year
Nuno Borges, Mississippi State

Freshman of the Year
Oliver Crawford, Florida

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Nuno Borges, Mississippi State

Coach of the Year
Matt Roberts, Mississippi State