LSU Gold

Four Named to Freshman All-SEC Football Team

by Brandon Berrio
Four Named to Freshman All-SEC Football Team

BATON ROUGE — The Southeastern Conference announced Thursday that linebacker K’Lavon Chaisson, offensive lineman Saahdiq Charles, defensive back Andraez “Greedy” Williams, and punter Zach Von Rosenberg have been named to the Coaches’ Freshman All-SEC team.

The four honorees to the freshman team marked the most for the Tigers in a season since 2014.

Williams was a standout as one of LSU’s lockdown corners. The Shreveport, Louisiana, native led the league in both passes defended with 15 and interceptions with four.

Charles totaled seven starts on the offensive line and helped pave the way for running back standouts Derrius Guice and Darrel Williams. Guice totaled 1,000 yards on the ground for the second straight year and Williams finished with more than 700.

Chaisson totaled 25 tackles at outside linebacker for the Tigers this season. He also added 4.5 tackles for loss and a pair of sacks.

Von Rosenberg was an outstanding asset for the Tigers in special teams. The 27-year-old former professional pitcher averaged 43.3 yards per punt on the year. Von Rosenberg was named the SEC Specialist of the Week following his performance at Alabama when he boomed five punts for 246 yards, including one for a career long 60 yards.

2018 Coaches’ Freshman ALL-SEC

TE – Albert Okwuegbunam, Missouri
OL – Trey Smith, Tennessee
OL – Andrew Thomas, Georgia
OL – Solomon Kindley, Georgia
OL – Saahdiq Charles, LSU
C – Trystan Castillo, Missouri
WR – D.K. Metcalf, Ole Miss
WR – Jhamon Ausbon, Texas A&M
QB – Jake Fromm, Georgia
RB – D’Andre Swift, Georgia
RB – Malik Davis, Florida
AP – Larry Rountree III, Missouri

DL – Nick Coe, Auburn
DL – K’Lavon Chaisson, LSU
DL – Big Kat Bryant, Auburn
DL – Tre Williams, Missouri
LB – Dylan Moses, Alabama
LB – Erroll Thompson, Mississippi State
LB – Anthony Hines III, Texas A&M
DB – Andraez “Greedy” Williams, LSU
DB – CJ Henderson, Florida
DB – Marco Wilson, Florida
DB – Jamyest Williams, South Carolina

PK – Jace Christmann, Mississippi State
P – Zach Von Rosenberg, LSU
RS – Henry Ruggs III, Alabama*
RS – Lynn Bowden, Kentucky*
RS – Larry Rountree III, Missouri*
RS – De’Vion Warren, Arkansas*
* ties not broken

LSU’s History on the Freshman All-SEC Teams
(Selected by Knoxville News-Sentinel from 1986-98; by SEC Coaches from 1999-present)

Season Pos. Name
1986 QB * Tommy Hodson
RB Harvey Williams
PK David Browndyke
1988 RS Vincent Fuller
1989 LB Nigel Ventress
LN David Walkup
1990 WR Marcus Carter
OL Kevin Mawae
LB Roovelroe Swan
DB Anthony Marshall
1991 DL William Crowell
DB Ivory Hilliard
DB Rodney Young
1992 KORS David Butler
OLB James Gillyard
1993 OL Ben Bordelon
ATH Eddie Kennison
LB Mike Calais
1994 OL Adam Perry
DL David Carmona
1995 OL Alan Faneca
QB Herb Tyler
RB * Kevin Faulk
RB Kendell Cleveland
DL * Anthony McFarland
1996 WR Larry Foster
RB Rondell Mealey
DL Theo Williams
LB Charles Smith
DB Mark Roman
1997 WR Abram Booty
OL Trey Langley
1998 WR Reggie Robinson
PK Christian Chauvin
DL Jarvis Green
1999 PK John Corbello
LB Trev Faulk
LB Bradie James
LB Jeremy Lawrence
2000 OL Rodney Reed
RB LaBrandon Toefield
P Donnie Jones
2001 TE Marcus Spears
OL Ben Wilkerson
2002 OL Andrew Whitworth
RB Joseph Addai
DB Cameron Vaughn
2003 TE Keith Zinger
DB LaRon Landry
2004 WR Early Doucet
OL Will Arnold
2005 DL Tyson Jackson
2006 OL Ciron Black
WR Brandon LaFell
DL Ricky Jean Francois
2007 WR Terrence Toliver
DB Chad Jones
RS Chad Jones
2008 n/a
2009 n/a
2010 DL Barkevious Mingo
DL Sam Montgomery
DB Tyrann Mathieu
2011 WR Odell Beckham Jr.
RB Kenny Hilliard
DL Anthony Johnson
PK James Hairston
P Brad Wing
2012 OL Vadal Alexander
DB Jalen Collins
2013 DB Tre’Davious White
2014 WR Malachi Dupre
RB Leonard Fournette
AP Leonard Fournette
DB Jamal Adams
2015 OL Will Clapp
RB Derrius Guice
DL Arden Key
2016 DL Ed Alexander
LB Devin White
P Josh Growden
2017 OL Saahdiq Charles
DL K’Lavon Chaisson
DB Andraez “Greedy” Williams
P Zach Von Rosenberg