LSU Gold

Seven Named to Coaches' All-SEC Teams

by Brandon Berrio
Seven Named to Coaches' All-SEC Teams

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Seven members of the LSU football team were named to the 2017 Coaches’ All-SEC teams with center Will Clapp and linebacker Devin White earning spots on the first team, the conference announced Tuesday.

Offensive lineman Garrett Brumfield, defensive backs Donte Jackson and Andraez “Greedy” Williams, running back Derrius Guice, and wide receiver DJ Chark earned spots on the second team.

Clapp, a Rimington Trophy finalist, and White were named to the AP All-SEC Monday. Clapp paved the way for Guice and Darrel Williams to run for more than 1,000 and 700 yards, respectively. White currently leads the SEC in tackles with 127 for the season and 10.6 per game.

Guice is third in the league in rushing yards with 1,153 and 11 touchdowns. The junior is just the fourth LSU player in school history to rush for 1,000 yards or more in back season and the only player in SEC history with three games of more than 250 yards in a career.

Both Jackson and Williams have been the top defensive backs in the league. Williams is tied in the league for the most passes defended with 15 as well as most interceptions with four. Jackson has played both cornerback and safety this season. The Metairie, Louisiana, native tied his career high with seven tackles against Arkansas.

Chark was selected to the second team as a return specialist. The senior led the league in punt return average with 11.7 per game. Chark totaled two touchdowns on punt returns this season with the most thrilling coming on a 75-yard return against Auburn to spark the Tigers to the largest comeback against an SEC team in Tiger Stadium history.

LSU posted its 18th-straight eight-win season in 2017 and will face off against Notre Dame in the Citrus Bowl on Monday, Jan. 1, at Camping World Stadium in Orlando, Florida.

2017 Coaches’ All-SEC Teams

TE – Hayden Hurst, South Carolina
OL – Isaiah Wynn, Georgia
OL – Braden Smith, Auburn
OL – Martinas Rankin, Mississippi State
OL – Jonah Williams, Alabama
C – Will Clapp, LSU
WR – A.J. Brown, Ole Miss
WR – Calvin Ridley, Alabama
QB – Drew Lock, Missouri
RB – Kerryon Johnson, Auburn
RB – Nick Chubb, Georgia
AP – Christian Kirk, Texas A&M

DL – Jeff Holland, Auburn
DL – Montez Sweat, Mississippi State
DL – Raekwon Davis, Alabama
DL – Jeffrey Simmons, Mississippi State
LB – Roquan Smith, Georgia
LB – Devin White, LSU
LB – Skai Moore, South Carolina
DB – Minkah Fitzpatrick, Alabama
DB – Duke Dawson, Florida
DB – Armani Watts, Texas A&M
DB – Carlton Davis, Auburn

PK – Daniel Carlson, Auburn
P – JK Scott, Alabama
RS – Christian Kirk, Texas A&M


TE – Albert Okwuegbunam, Missouri

OL – Trey Smith, Tennessee
OL – Garrett Brumfield, LSU
OL – Martez Ivey, Florida
OL – Greg Little, Ole Miss
C – Bradley Bozeman, Alabama
WR – J’Mon Moore, Missouri
WR – Christian Kirk, Texas A&M
QB – Jarrett Stidham, Auburn
RB – Benny Snell, Kentucky
RB – Derrius Guice, LSU
AP – A.J. Brown, Ole Miss

DL – Da’Ron Payne, Alabama
DL – Marcell Frazier, Missouri
DL – Da’Shawn Hand, Alabama
DL – Marquis Haynes, Ole Miss
LB – Rashaan Evans, Alabama
LB – Lorenzo Carter, Georgia
LB – Tre’ Williams, Auburn
DB – Ronnie Harrison, Alabama
DB – Donte Jackson, LSU
DB – Andraez “Greedy” Williams, LSU
DB – Deandre Baker, Georgia


PK – Eddy Pineiro, Florida
P – Johnny Townsend, Florida
RS – DJ Chark, LSU