Bannister Earns SEC Volleyball Honors

by Chelsey Chamberlain
Bannister Earns SEC Volleyball Honors

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – LSU freshman right side hitter Taylor Bannister was named to the 18-member All-SEC team and the seven-member All-Freshman team the league announced on Wednesday morning.

Bannister is the first LSU volleyball player to earn SEC honors since 2014. She was named SEC Freshman of the Week three times earlier this year and has been instrumental in the Tigers’ success this season.

“Taylor has had an outstanding freshman season and we are excited that she has been recognized as one of the best players in the SEC,” said head coach Fran Flory. “It is a tribute to the success of our team and the opportunities they were able to create for her this year.”

The Missouri City, Texas native has recorded four 20-plus kill matches this season and leads the team in kills per set on the year at 3.26. In SEC matches only, she ranks 10th among the league in points per set at 3.73 and fifth at 3.44 kills per set. She is one of three freshmen ranked in the top 10 in kills per set and is one of two freshmen in the league ranked in the top 10 in points per set.

In non-conference action, Bannister put together a career-high 26 kills on 38 attacks with just three errors for a .605 hitting percentage. That performance helped her earn her first SEC Freshman of the Week honor which was the first SEC Freshman of the Week honor for LSU volleyball since 2014.

In SEC action, Bannister is hitting .245 and has tallied 203 kills. On the year, she is hitting .271 with a total of 326 kills. She also has a total of 71 blocks for the year which is second-best for the Tigers.

The Tigers are currently 19-8 on the year and sit in fourth place of the SEC with a 10-6 record. With an RPI of 38, the Tigers have two matches remaining in the regular season. They will play host to Georgia for Senior Tribute later this evening at 7 p.m. in the Pete Maravich Assembly Center before hitting the road to Tennessee on Friday at 6 p.m. CT.

2017 SEC Awards

Player of the Year: Rhamat Alhassan, Florida
Libero of the Year: Ashley Dusek, Kentucky
Freshman of the Year: Madison Lilley, Kentucky
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Macy Reece, Auburn
Co-Coaches of the Year: Mary Wise, Florida and Craig Skinner, Kentucky

All-SEC Team
Pilar Victoria, Arkansas
Jesse Earl, Auburn
Alexa Filley, Auburn
Rhamat Alhassan, Florida
Shainah Joseph, Florida
Caroline Knop, Florida
Rachael Kramer, Florida
Carli Snyder, Florida
T’ara Ceasar, Georgia
Kaz Brown, Kentucky
Ashley Dusek, Kentucky
Leah Edmond, Kentucky
Emily Franklin, Kentucky
Madison Lilley, Kentucky
Taylor Bannister, LSU
Kira Larson, Missouri
Alyssa Munlyn, Missouri
Mikayla Shields, South Carolina

All-Freshman Team
T’ara Ceasar, Georgia
Madison Lilley, Kentucky
Avery Skinner, Kentucky
Taylor Bannister, LSU
Kayla Caffey, Missouri
Leketor Member-Meneh, Missouri
Mikayla Robinson, South Carolina