Butsch and Moreno Win SEC Classic Doubles Title

by Alissa Cavaretta
SEC Classic Finals Listings SEC Classic Draws +0
Butsch and Moreno Win SEC Classic Doubles Title

TUSCALOOSA, Ala.— Doubles duo Justin Butsch and Agie Moreno defeated Kentucky’s Alex Dominguez and Trey Yates, 8-5, to take the SEC Coaches Classic doubles title in the Ellis Ferreira draw Saturday at the Alabama Tennis Center.

In addition to the doubles win, freshman Julian Saborio and sophomore Nikola Samardzic pieced together back-to-back singles wins to advance to the SEC Coaches Classic finals in the John Stimpson and Jeff Robinson draws, respectively.

Sunday’s competition is set to begin at 9 a.m. CT, and four Tigers will compete as Moreno and fellow freshman Rafael Wagner will take the court in the Francisco Rodriguez draw.

Saborio will square off against Kentucky’s Jake Stefanik. Samardzic will face Auburn’s Conner Huertas. Moreno will take on Florida’s Chase Perez Blanco, and Wagner will play Auburn’s Max Hinnesdaels in Sunday’s singles finals.

“Justin and Agie got us off to a good start as they won the doubles title, and Nikola and Julian picked up four wins to round out the day to advance to Sunday’s competition,” head coach Jeff Brown said.

In the Jeff Robinson draw, Samardzic defeated Carles Sarrio of Auburn, 6-3, 6-2, and he followed with a 6-4, 7-5 win against Vanderbilt’s Panu Virtanen.

Saborio took a win against Arkansas’ Branch Terrell, 6-4, 6-4, to get started in the John Stimpson draw. He, then, collected a win against Vanderbilt’s Alex Ross, after he retired with a final sore of 6-2, 1-1.

For up-to-date information and behind-the-scenes access on the Tigers, fans can follow the LSU men’s tennis team on Twitter and Instagram at @lsutennis and on Facebook at www.facebook.com/lsutennis.

2016 SEC Coaches Classic
Nov. 4-6 at Tuscaloosa, Ala. (Alabama Tennis Center)

Saturday, Nov. 5
Jeff Robinson Draw
Nikola Samardzic (LSU) def. Carles Sarrio (Auburn), 6-3, 6-2
Nikola Samardzic (LSU) def. Panu Virtanen (Vanderbilt), 6-4, 7-5

Francisco Rodriguez Draw
Tim Sandkaulen (Ole Miss) def. Justin Butsch (LSU), 6-2, 6-0
Jordan Belga (Florida) def. Agie Moreno, 6-7(3), 7-5, 6-3
Gabriel Friedrich (Kentucky) def. Rafael Wagner (LSU), 7-5, 7-6(1)
Chase Perez Blanco (Florida) def. Rafael Wagner (LSU), 6-2, 6-1

John Stimpson Main Draw
Julian Saborio (LSU) def. Branch Terrell (Arkansas), 6-4, 6-4
Julian Saborio (LSU) def. Alex Ross (Vanderbilt), 6-2, 1-1 ret.

John Stimpson Consolation Draw
Ritchie Kruuenberg (Alabama) def. Cameron Andry (LSU), 6-2, 6-2

Greg Hahn Draw
Hayes Brewer/ Thibault Cancel (Alabama) def. Nikola Samardzic/Rafael Wagner (LSU), 8-7(6).

Ellis Ferreira Draw
Mazen Osama/Spencer Richey (Alabama) def. Gabor Csonka/Julian Saborio (LSU), 8-6

Andy Solis
Justin Butsch/Agie Moreno (LSU) def. Alex Dominguez/Trey Yates (Kentucky), 8-5

Sunday, Nov. 6
John Stimpson Draw
Julian Saborio (LSU) vs. Jake Stefanik (Kentucky), 9 a.m.

Jeff Robinson Draw
Nikola Samardzic (LSU) vs. Conner Huertas (Auburn), 9 a.m.

Francisco Rodriguez Draw
Agie Moreno (LSU) vs. Chase Perez Blanco (Florida), 9 a.m.
Rafael Wagner (LSU) vs. Max Hinnisdaels (Auburn), 9 a.m.