Men's Tennis to Compete in SEC Coaches Classic

by Alissa Cavaretta
SEC Classic Draws +0
Men's Tennis to Compete in SEC Coaches Classic

TUSCALOOSA, Ala.— The LSU men’s tennis team is set to compete in its final fall matches in the SEC Coaches Classic at the Alabama Tennis Center.    

The Tigers will begin competition Friday morning and will square off against competitors from nine schools in the three-day event. 

“This is a great way to end the fall,” head coach Jeff Brown said. “This is as strong of a field as we could ask for. Every round is going to be a challenge.” 

LSU will have three doubles pairs begin at 9 a.m. Friday as Gabor Csonka and Julian Saborio are set to take on Arkansas’ Juan Marino and Adam Sanjurjo. Justin Butsch and Agie Moreno will square off against Auburn’s Max Hinnisdaels and Carles Sarrio, and Nikola Samardzic and Rafael Wagner will compete against Auburn’s Conner Huertas and Dante Saleh. 

In singles competition, sophomore Cameron Andry will compete against Austin Rables of Arkansas in the first round of the John Stimpson Main Draw.  Saborio will take the court after a first round bye against Hayes Brewer of Alabama in the second round. 

Csonka will take on Alabama’s Spencer Richey, and Samardzic will compete against South Carolina’s Harrison O’Keefe in the Jeff Robinson draw. 

In the Francisco Rodriguez draw, Wagner will square off against Dante Saleh of Auburn, and Moreno will take on Max Hinnisdaels of Auburn. Butsch rounds out the Tigers in the Francisco Rodriguez draw, as he will compete against Kent’s Alex Dominguez. 

For up-to-date information and behind-the-scenes access on the Tigers, fans can follow the LSU men’s tennis team on Twitter and Instagram at @lsutennis and on Facebook at

2016 SEC Coaches Classic 
Nov. 4-6 at Tuscaloosa, Ala. (Alabama Tennis Center)

Friday, Nov. 4
John Stimpson Main Draw 
First Round
Cameron Andry (LSU) vs. Austin Rables (Arkansas), 9 a.m. 

Second Round
Julian Saborio (LSU) vs. Hayes Brewer (Alabama), 12:30 p.m. 

Jeff Robinson Draw First Round
Gabor Csonka (LSU) vs. Spencer Richey (Alabama), 12:30 p.m. 
Nikola Samardzic (LSU) vs. Harrison O’Keefe (South Carolina) 12:30 p.m. 

Francisco Rodriguez Draw First Round 
Rafael Wagner (LSU) vs. Dante Saleh (Auburn), 2 p.m. 
Agie Moreno (LSU) vs. Max Hinnisdaels (Auburn), 2 p.m. 
Justin Butsch (LSU) vs. Alex Dominguez (Kent), 2 p.m. 

Ellis Ferreira Draw First Round
Gabor Csonka/Julian Saborio (LSU) vs. Juan Marino/Adam Sanjurjo (Arkansas), 9 a.m. 

Andy Solis Draw First Round
Justin Butsch/Agie Moreno vs. Max Hinnisdaels/Carles Sarrio (Auburn), 9 a.m. 

Greg Hahn Draw
First Round
Nikola Samardzic/Rafael Wagner vs. Conner Huertas/Dante Saleh(Auburn), 9 a.m. 

Second Round
Nikola Samardzic/Rafael Wagner vs. Johan den Toom/Branch Terrell (Arkansas), 10 a.m.