Football Ranked No. 6 in Preseason Coaches Poll

by Jennifer Rodrigues
LSU's Coaches' Poll History +0
Football Ranked No. 6 in Preseason Coaches Poll

BATON ROUGE — The LSU Football team earned its highest preseason rankings since 2012, as the Tigers were voted No. 6 in the Amway Coaches’ Preseason Poll announced Thursday.

LSU has landed in the preseason poll 16-straight years, dating back to the 2001 campaign. This is the 10th time that the Tigers will open the season in the top 10 since 1998.

LSU, with a 9-3 record in 2015, ranked 17th in the final poll last year.

The Coaches’ Poll began selecting the top 15 teams on a weekly basis during the 1950-1951 college football and basketball seasons. It was initially published by United Press (after 1958, United Press International). For the 1990 season, the poll expanded to a top 25 and it has retained this format since.

The Associated Press preseason poll will be released Aug. 21, while the first College Football Playoff rankings will be announced on Nov. 1.

The Tigers open their 12th season under Les Miles on Saturday, Sept. 3 when LSU faces Wisconsin at Lambeau Field in Green Bay, Wisc.

Amway Coaches Preseason Poll | LSU’s Poll History

Rank, Team (First-Place Votes), 2015 Record, Points
1, Alabama (55), 14-1, 1585
2, Clemson (7), 14-1, 1524
3, Oklahoma, 11-2, 1398
4, Florida State (1), 10-3, 1351
5, Ohio State, 12-1, 1321
6, LSU, 9-3, 1241
7, Stanford, 12-2, 1149
8, Michigan, 10-3, 1062
9, Notre Dame, 10-3, 1034
10, Tennessee (1), 9-4, 960
11, Michigan State, 12-2, 901
12, Mississippi, 10-3, 792
13, Houston, 13-1, 668
14, Texas Christian, 11-2, 649
15, Iowa, 12-2, 579
16, Georgia, 10-3, 525
17, Southern California, 8-6, 468
18, Washington, 7-6, 454
19, Oklahoma State, 10-3, 426
20, North Carolina, 11-3, 422
21, Baylor, 10-3, 383
22, Oregon, 9-4, 361
23, Louisville, 8-5, 331
24, UCLA, 8-5, 296
25, Florida, 10-4, 245

Others Receiving Votes
Miami (Fla.) 120; Wisconsin 82; Utah 73; Boise State 73; Washington State 47; Texas A&M 37; Texas 34; Arkansas 34; Northwestern 31; Navy 30; Mississippi State 19; San Diego State 18; Nebraska 17; Auburn 17; Western Kentucky 11; Pittsburgh 8; Brigham Young 6; Appalachian State 4; Duke 3; Arizona 2; Marshall 2; Toledo 2; South Florida 2; Memphis 1; Indiana 1; Northern Illinois 1.

List of Voters
The Amway Board of Coaches is made up of 64 head coaches at Bowl Subdivision schools. All are members of the American Football Coaches Association. The board for the 2016 season: Chris Ash, Rutgers; Dino Babers, Syracuse; David Bailiff, Rice; David Beaty, Kansas; Bret Bielema, Arkansas; John Bonamego, Central Michigan; Terry Bowden, Akron; Matt Campbell, Iowa State; Ron Caragher, San Jose State; Rod Carey, Northern Illinois; Paul Chryst, Wisconsin; Chris Creighton, Eastern Michigan; David Cutcliffe, Duke; DJ Durkin, Maryland; Larry Fedora, North Carolina; Jimbo Fisher, Florida State; James Franklin, Penn State; Justin Fuente, Virginia Tech; Mike Gundy, Oklahoma State; Bryan Harsin, Boise State; Clay Helton, Southern California; Tom Herman, Houston; Doc Holliday, Marshall; Skip Holtz, Louisiana Tech; Joey Jones, South Alabama, Brian Kelly, Notre Dame; Sean Kugler, Texas-El Paso; Mike Leach, Washington State; Lance Leipold, Buffalo; Seth Littrell, North Texas; Rocky Long, San Diego State; Mike MacIntyre, Colorado; Gus Malzahn, Auburn; Chuck Martin, Miami (Ohio); Doug Martin, New Mexico State; Derek Mason, Vanderbilt; Urban Meyer, Ohio State; Trent Miles, Georgia State; Philip Montgomery, Tulsa; Scottie Montgomery, East Carolina; Chad Morris, Southern Methodist; Dan Mullen, Mississippi State; Mike Norvell, Memphis; Gary Patterson, TCU; Chris Petersen, Washington; Brian Polian, Nevada; Mark Richt, Miami (Fla.); Mike Riley, Nebraska; Rich Rodriguez, Arizona; Nick Saban, Alabama; Tony Sanchez, UNLV; Scott Satterfield, Appalachian State; Kirby Smart, Georgia; Frank Solich, Ohio; Rick Stockstill, Middle Tennessee State; Bob Stoops, Oklahoma; Kevin Sumlin, Texas A&M; Dabo Swinney, Clemson; Tommy Tuberville, Cincinnati; Ron Turner, Florida International; Matt Wells, Utah State; Kyle Whittingham, Utah; Kevin Wilson, Indiana; Everett Withers, Texas State.