LSU Gold

Fournette Among Doak Walker Semifinalists

by Michael Bonnette (@LSUBonnette)
Fournette Among Doak Walker Semifinalists

BATON ROUGE – LSU’s Leonard Fournette has been named one of 11 semifinalists for the Doak Walker Award, which is given annually to the nation’s top running back, the SMU Athletic Forum announced on Wednesday.

Fournette currently leads the nation in both rushing yards (1,474) and rushing yards per game (163.8) and is among the national leaders with 17 rushing touchdowns, which is just two shy of tying the school record.

Earlier this year, Fournette became the first running back in Southeastern Conference history to rush for 200 yards in three straight games. He needed only five games to reach 1,000 rushing yards for the season, also a first in SEC history. Fournette has been named national player of the week once this year and SEC Player of the Week three times.

Fournette is joined on the list by two other SEC running bacs in Alex Collins of Arkansas and Derrick Henry of Alabama.

Members of the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will cast their votes to determine the 2015 finalists, which will be announced on Tuesday, November 24. The Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will cast a second vote, which will determine the 2015 recipient. The 2015 Doak Walker Award recipient will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, December 10, on ESPN.

The Award is named after three-time SMU All-America running back and 1948 Heisman Trophy winner Doak Walker. Walker, who also punted, returned kicks and kicked extra points, led the Mustangs to two Southwest Conference Championships. He was drafted by the Detroit Lions and led the league in scoring his rookie year. During his six years with the Lions, he led the team to two NFL championships and was chosen All-Pro four times. Walker is a member of both the College and Pro Football Halls of Fame. The 2015 recipient will be the 26th in the history of the award.

Here’s the list of 11 Doak Walker semifinalists:
Devontae Booker (Utah)
Alex Collins (Arkansas)
Dalvin Cook (Florida State)
Ezekiel Elliott (Ohio State)
Leonard Fournette (LSU)
Royce Freeman (Oregon)
Derrick Henry (Alabama)
Brian Hill (Wyoming)
Shock Linwood (Baylor)
Christian McCaffrey (Stanford)
C.J. Prosise (Notre Dame)