Swimming and Diving Splits for Intrasquad

by Brandon Berrio
Swimming and Diving Splits for Intrasquad

BATON ROUGE – The LSU Swimming and Diving team takes to the pool for the annual purple and gold intrasquad meet at 3 p.m. Friday, September 25, at the LSU Natatorium. The squad is split into two teams by the coaching staff and the events will imitate a dual meet.

“I’m excited for this meet. I think we’re in a spot where we are ready to race,” LSU Swimming coach Dave Geyer said. “I like where we are already this season through our training in and out of the water. It’s time to make an adjustment and see where we are going into the season.”

Allie Alter, Kara Kopcso, Madison Sthamann, Danielle Stirrat, Alex Linge and Andrew Suchla lead the way for the purple team.

Kopcso set three individual records and one relay record last season. The junior is a two-time NCAA qualifier and earned NCAA Honorable Mention All-American honors last season in the 200 fly. Sthamann was also named an All-American at NCAA’s after finishing seventh in the consolation final of platform.

Linge and Suchla will be relied upon for the men this season as leaders in and out of the water. Linge, a senior from Linköping, Sweden, is a two-time NCAA relay participant for the Tigers and is a part of two school relay records. Suchla finished sixth on three-meter at last season’s SEC Championships with the eighth-highest score in school history.”

The gold team is led in part by Megan Cox, Colleen O’Neil, Caley Oquist, Silas Dejean and Logan Rysemus.

O’Neil and Oquist qualified individually for NCAA Championships last season for the Lady Tigers. O’Neil swam the second-fastest 100 breast and third-fastest 200 breast times in school history last season and Oquist owns school records in the backstroke events.

Dejean and Rysemus both reached NCAA’s last season and were a part of the school record 400-medley relay teams. Rysemus set the second-fastest 100 back time in school history last season. Dejean also set the sixth-fastest 100 breast time and ninth-fastest 200 breast times in school history.

The meet also features eight newcomers on the purple team and 11 on the gold team. All 19 freshmen will get a taste of all that a college dual meet has to offer.

“We’ve been training really hard in and out of the pool,” LSU Diving coach Doug Shaffer said. “Our athletes love to compete and this will give them an opportunity to do it in a non-traditional format. We’ll have some friendly competition to get ready for our dual meet season.”

For more information and updates on LSU Swimming and Diving please visit LSUsports.net, ‘like’ us on Facebook at LSU Swimming and Diving or follow us on Twitter @LSUswimdive.

Order of Events:
200 medley relay (W)
200 medley relay (M)
1000 free
200 free
100 back
100 breast
200 fly
50 free
100 free
200 back
200 breast
500 free
100 fly
200 IM
200 freestyle relay (W)
200 freestyle relay (M)

Purple Team
Allie Alter, Taylor Anderson, Angele Cherbonnier, Devon Dabney, Jessie James, Lia Joslin, Haylee Knight, Kara Kopcso, Taryn MacKenzie, Hannah Martin, Summer Spradley, Madison Sthamann, Stacey Stanfield, Danielle Stirrat, Leah Troskot, Kate Zimmer, Harry Ackland, William Arthur, Austin Drummond, Colin Finnegan, Brandon Goldman, Garrett House, Matthew McClellan, Alex Linge, Alarii Lopez, Devin McCaffrey, Thomas Smith and Andrew Suchla

Gold Team
Sophia Bisch, Megan Cox, Tennyson Henry, Katie Lagarde, Megan Loop, Rileigh Knox, Jane MacDougall, Colleen O’Neil, Caley Oquist, Gabrielle Pick, Lauren Thompson, Sophie Weber, Makenna Wilson, Cassie Weil, Kari Wray, Ryan Cade, Alex Carson, Silas Dejean, Tyler Harper, Harrison Jones, Jake Markham, Joao Mescolote, Mitchell Petras, Damen Pheiffer, Matthew Phillip and Logan Rysemus