LSU in Coaches' Preseason Poll for 15th-Straight Time

by Jake Terry (@LSUjake)
LSU's History in the Coaches' Poll Reserve Your Seat - All Home Games Available +0
LSU in Coaches' Preseason Poll for 15th-Straight Time

BATON ROUGE – For the 15th-straight season, LSU football ranked among the top 25 teams in the nation as the Tigers were tabbed No. 13 in the preseason Amway Coaches Poll released Thursday.

It is the fifth-straight season and 10th time in 11 seasons under head coach Les Miles that the Tigers will open the year ranked in the top 15 of the coaches’ poll.

Four of LSU’s 12 opponents in the 2015 season appear in the poll, while four more received votes.

LSU’s ranked foes in 2015 include Alabama at No. 3, Auburn at No. 7, Ole Miss at 15 and Arkansas at 20. Mississippi State, Texas A&M, South Carolina and Florida are receiving votes.

The first regular-season coaches’ poll is scheduled to be released Sept. 8. The final regular-season poll is scheduled to be released Dec. 6.

Individual tickets are on sale for all seven home games as well as road contests at Mississippi State, Syracuse and South Carolina. Two-game and four-game ticket packages are also available for purchase. Visit to purchase tickets starting as low as $15.

LSU reports to fall camp on Wednesday, Aug. 5 before taking the field for the first practice on Thursday, Aug. 6.

LSU opens its 2015 campaign on Sept. 5 in Tiger Stadium against McNeese State. Kickoff will be at 6:30 p.m. CT on the SEC Network Alternate Channel.

Pregame featuring “Voice of the Tigers” Jim Hawthorne on the LSU Sports Radio Network will begin at 4:30 p.m. from Zatarain’s Tiger One Village between Tiger Stadium and the Maravich Center.

Amway Coaches’ Preseason Top 25

Rank, Team (First-Place Votes), Points
1. Ohio State, (62), 1598
2. TCU, (1), 1487
3. Alabama, (1), 1452
4. Baylor, 1365
5. Oregon, 1260
6. Michigan State, 1230
7. Auburn, 1103
8. Florida State, 1057
9. Georgia, 1026
10. USC, 1014
11. Notre Dame, 883
12. Clemson, 838
13. LSU, 727
14. UCLA, 697
15. Ole Miss, 668
16. Arizona State, 577
17. Georgia Tech, 573
18. Wisconsin, 470
19. Oklahoma, 407
20. Arkansas, 377
21. Stanford, 365
22. Arizona, 299
23. Missouri, 229
24. Boise State, 190
25. Tennessee, 166

Others Receiving Votes
Mississippi State 164; Texas A&M 149; Oklahoma State 89; Virginia Tech 70; Utah 40; Kansas State 37; Louisville 27; Nebraska 27; Minnesota 25; Penn State 20; South Carolina 18; Miami (Fla.) 16; Texas 8; Illinois 7; Duke 6; Air Force 5; Louisiana Tech 5; Marshall 4; Utah State 4; West Virginia 3; NC State 3; Brigham Young 3; Florida 2; Georgia Southern 2; North Carolina 2; Maryland 1; Michigan 1; Kentucky 1; Central Florida 1; Cincinnati 1; Washington 1.

List of Voters
The Amway Board of Coaches is made up of 64 head coaches at Bowl Subdivision schools. All are members of the American Football Coaches Association.

The board for the 2015 season (listed alphabetically by school): 
Troy Calhoun, Air Force
Terry Bowden, Akron
Nick Saban, Alabama
Todd Graham, Arizona State
Gus Malzahn, Auburn
Art Briles, Baylor
Dino Babers, Bowling Green
Bronco Mendenhall, Brigham Young
Lance Leipold, Buffalo
George O’Leary, Central Florida
Brad Lambert, Charlotte
Tommy Tuberville, Cincinnati
Dabo Swinney, Clemson
Mike MacIntyre, Colorado
Bob Diaco, Connecticut
David Cutcliffe, Duke
Ruffin McNeill, East Carolina
Jimbo Fisher, Florida State
Tim DeRuyter, Fresno State
Mark Richt, Georgia
Willie Fritz, Georgia Southern
Paul Johnson, Georgia Tech
Norm Chow, Hawaii
Paul Petrino, Idaho
Paul Rhoads, Iowa State
Mark Hudspeth, Louisiana-Lafayette
Les Miles, LSU
Doc Holliday, Marshall
Al Golden, Miami
Jim Harbaugh, Michigan
Mark Dantonio, Michigan State
Rick Stockstill, Middle Tennessee State
Gary Pinkel, Missouri
Ken Niumatalolo, Navy
Mike Riley, Nebraska
Doug Martin, New Mexico State
Larry Fedora, North Carolina
Dan McCarney, North Texas
Rod Carey, Northern Illinois
Brian Kelly, Notre Dame
Frank Solich, Ohio
Urban Meyer, Ohio State
Bob Stoops, Oklahoma
Mike Gundy, Oklahoma State
Mark Helfrich, Oregon
James Franklin, Penn State
David Bailiff, Rice
Kyle Flood, Rutgers
Rocky Long, San Diego State
Joey Jones, South Alabama
Steve Spurrier, South Carolina
Gary Patterson, TCU
Kevin Sumlin, Texas A&M
Dennis Franchione, Texas State
Larry Coker, Texas-San Antonio
Matt Campbell, Toledo
Phillip Montgomery, Tulsa
Jim Mora, UCLA
Kyle Whittingham, Utah
Matt Wells, Utah State
Frank Beamer, Virginia Tech
Chris Petersen, Washington
Paul Chryst, Wisconsin
Craig Bohl, Wyoming