O'Bryant III Named to Naismith Watch List

by Kent Lowe (@LSUkent)
O'Bryant III Named to Naismith Watch List

BATON ROUGE – LSU junior forward Johnny O’Bryant III was one of 50 players named Thursday to the Men’s top 50 for the 2014 Naismith Trophy Early Season Watch List.

O’Bryant III, a first-team All-SEC selection a year ago who had 15 double doubles and was second in the Southeastern Conference in league game rebounds, is one of seven SEC players on the list. The Naismith Award is presented annually by the Atlanta Tipoff Club.

The native of Cleveland, Miss., has opened the season with two double doubles and has double figure rebounds in all three games.

Other SEC players selected on the Top 50 watch list are: Andre Harrison of Kentucky; Marshall Henderson of Ole Miss; Jordan McRae of Tennessee; Julius Randle of Kentucky; Jarnell Stokes of Tennessee; and, James Young of Kentucky.