Cross Country Teams Second at Cowboy Stampede

by Jordan Bergeron
Women's Results Men's Results +0
Cross Country Teams Second at Cowboy Stampede

LAKE CHARLES, La. – While “leading by example” with their performance Saturday at the McNeese Cowboy Stampede, junior Philip Primeaux took fourth overall in the men’s four-mile race and junior Andrea Aguilar earned fifth overall in the women’s 5k race to lead the Tigers and Lady Tigers to a pair of second-place team finishes at the Enos Darbonne Recreation Complex.

Primeaux crossed the finished line in 20 minutes, 5.69 seconds as the top Tiger in the men’s race, while leading LSU’s “A” team to a runner-up finish with 71 points. McNeese State’s “A” team won the men’s crown with 17 points for the meet.

Aguilar clocked 18:25.62 to lead the way for the Lady Tigers in the race as their “A” squad also earned a second-place team finish with 62 points on the women’s side. The Lady Tigers finished just behind the 43 points scored by Tulane’s “A” team for the women’s crown.

Cross country head coach Khadevis Robinson talked about the leadership styles of his top runner on both sides Saturday as the teams enjoyed their best performance of the 2013 season.

“I think they are both really focused on leading by example, so they are focusing on running the best that they can run,” Robinson said. “I think from that, they will start to gain confidence in themselves and start to push other people to do the same.

“For this race, I just wanted them to compete and I think they did that. I think Andy [Aguilar] stuck her neck out. She might have went out a little too quick, but that’s fine. Same thing with [Philip] Primeaux. I think he could’ve won the race. At the end of the day, we’re trying to get better overall.”

Alex Kiptoo from McNeese State (19:39.38) finished first in the men’s race, while Tessni Carruthers from Nicholls State (17:51.55) finished first in the women’s.

The men’s “A” squad finished second and the men’s “B” squad eighth out of 10 teams. The field was composed of 13 total teams.

Along with Primeaux, juniors William Wiesler (20:41.17) and Bryan Mutell (20:51.48), sophomore Travis Pope (21:04.2) and freshman Joseph St. Cyr (21:09.58) rounded out the men’s “A” squad. The members of the “A” squad all finished in the Top 25 overall at fourth, 12th, 16th, 21st and 23rd, respectively.

The men’s “B” squad consisted of sophomore Aaron Koenck (21:44.84), junior Philip Dempsey (22:03.17), freshman Buck Baker (22:59.19), redshirt-freshman Kevin Kirchner (23:11.6) and freshman Blair Henderson (25:27.92).

The women’s “A” squad placed second and the “B” squad sixth out of 10 total teams. LSU was the only team with a “B” squad to place in the competition.

Following Aguilar on the women’s “A” squad was redshirt freshman Chaiss Matthews (19:25.86), sophomore Morgan Scheutz (19:27.06), and freshmen Jenna Walker (19:40.36) and Ashley Welborn (19:49.53). The members of the women’s “A” squad finished in the Top 20 overall at fifth, 12th, 13th, 15th and 17th, respectively.

Redshirt-freshman Meghan Charbonnet (19:50.44), who also finished in the Top 20 at 19th overall, led the women’s “B” squad. Joining Charbonnet on the “B” squad was junior Michelle Mobley (20:43.87), freshman Danielle Avery (20:46.27), redshirt freshman Elizabeth Dunning (21:03.27) and freshman Katie Stevenson (21:27.32)

Aguilar, Koenck, Mobley, Mutell, Pope, Primeaux, Schuetz and Wiesler, who competed in the race last year, all improved their times in the Stampede.

“I think they’re at a stage in which they’re learning what they can do, get confidence in themselves, and that’s the main thing,” Robinson said.

The Tigers and Lady Tigers return to action when they head north to Fayetteville, Ark., where they will compete in the Chile Pepper Festival on Oct. 05. The meet will be held on the Razorback Cross Country course at Agri Park.

Follow the LSU men’s and women’s cross country teams on Twitter by following @LSUTrackField and on Facebook by liking LSU Track & Field. 

Men (Top 10)
1. McNeese State A – 17
2. LSU A – 71
3. Louisiana Tech A – 96
4. Central Arkansas A – 107
5. UL-Lafayette A – 114
6. Tulane – 171
7. SE Louisiana A – 186
8. LSU B – 227
9. Northwestern St. A – 233
10. Southern A – 261

Women (Top 10)
1. Tulane A – 43
2. LSU A – 62
3. McNeese State A – 69
4. UL-Lafayette A – 87
5. Nicholls State A – 143
6. LSU B – 153
7. Central Arkansas – 157
8. Southern – 194
9. Northwestern St. A – 239
10. SE Louisiana A – 241


Men (Winner and LSU only)
1. Alex Kiptoo (McNeese St.) 19:39.38; 4. Philip Primeaux 20:05.69; 12. William Wiesler 20:41.17; 16. Bryan Mutell 20:51.48; 21. Travis Pope 21:04.2; 23. Joseph St. Cyr 21:09.58; 35. Aaron Koenck 21:44.84; 38. Philip Dempsey 22:03.17; 55. Buck Baker 22:59.19; 58. Kevin Kirchner 23:11.6; 73. Blair Henderson 25:27.92

Women (Winner and LSU only)
1. Tessni Carruthers (Nicholls St.) 17:51.55; 20. Andria Aguilar 22:15.69; 71. Jenna Walker 23:26.13; 85. Morgan Schuetz 23:53.81; 93. Chaiss Matthews 23:58.40; 94. Ashley Welbourn 23:58.49; 107. Meghan Charbonnet 24:22.05; 144. Danielle Avery 25:18.00; 146. Michelle Mobley25:23.26; 166. Kate Stevenson 25:46.19.