LSU Gold

Mathieu Named to Walter Camp Watch List

by Bill Martin (@LSUBillMartin)
Mathieu Named to Walter Camp Watch List

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – LSU cornerback and return specialist Tyrann Mathieu headlines a list of 50 student-athletes named to the watch list for the Walter Camp Award, which is presented annually to college football’s National Player of the Year, the Walter Camp Foundation announced on Friday.

Mathieu, the reigning National Defensive Player of the Year, is one of 10 Southeastern Conference players on the watch list and he is one of 13 defensive players across the nation on the list. Mathieu seeks to become the first LSU football player to capture the award in its 45-year history.

Mathieu heads into his junior season having created a total of 14 turnovers during his career. His 11 forced fumbles rank seventh in NCAA history and are just three shy of the NCAA career record. Mathieu currently owns the NCAA career record in forced fumbles per game with 0.42.

He posted 76 tackles, two interceptions and ran back two punts for touchdowns last season for the SEC-champion Tigers.

The watch list will be narrowed to 10 semifinalists in mid-November. The 2012 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, which is voted on by the 124 NCAA Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced live on ESPN SportsCenter on Thursday, Dec. 6. The winner will then receive his trophy at the Foundation’s annual national awards banquet on Jan. 12, 2013 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.

The Walter Camp watch list concludes the National College Football Awards Association’s unveiling of candidates for national individual awards for the 2012 season. In all, LSU football has garnered 25 nominations for 12 different awards, including the Lott Trophy candidates that were announced earlier this summer.

2012 NCFAA Preseason Watch List Calendar
Monday, July 9 – Bednarik Award (CB Tyrann Mathieu, DE Sam Montgomery, DE Barkevious Mingo, S Eric Reid) | Details
Tuesday, July 10 – Rimington Trophy (C P.J. Lonergan) | Details
Tuesday, July 10 – Mackey Award (TE Chase Clement) | Details
Wednesday, July 11 – Lou Groza Award (PK Drew Alleman) | Details
Wednesday, July 11 – Ray Guy Award (P Brad Wing) | Details
Thursday, July 12 – Bronko Nagurski Trophy (CB Tyrann Mathieu, DE Sam Montgomery, DE Barkevious Mingo, S Eric Reid) | Details
Thursday, July 12 – Outland Trophy (OT Chris Faulk, OT Alex Hurst, DT Bennie Logan) | Details
Friday, July 13 – Jim Thorpe Award (CB Tyrann Mathieu, S Eric Reid) | Details
Monday, July 16 – Butkus Award (LB Kevin Minter) | Details
Monday, July 16 – Lombardi Award (OT Chris Faulk, OT Alex Hurst, DE Barkevious Mingo, DE Sam Montgomery) | Details
Friday, July 20 – Walter Camp Award (CB Tyrann Mathieu) | Details