Track & Field to Honor Alumni at Annual Banquet

by Will Stafford (@WillStaffordLSU)
Track & Field to Honor Alumni at Annual Banquet

BATON ROUGE – The weekend of the LSU Alumni Gold has evolved into a true celebration of the rich history and tradition of the NCAA’s most storied track and field program, and the Tigers and Lady Tigers are proud to welcome their alumni back to Baton Rouge this weekend beginning with Friday’s LSU Track & Field Team Awards and Alumni Recognition Banquet.

The banquet will be held Friday night at the Pete Maravich Assembly Center and will start with an alumni social at 6:30 p.m. CDT followed by the dinner and team awards program at 7:30 p.m.

LSU is proud to have ESPN’s Emmy Award-winning television personality and track and field announcer Larry Rawson on hand to serve as the Master of Ceremonies of the event.

During a prestigious broadcasting career spanning more than 30 years, Rawson has announced such meets as the U.S. Olympic Track & Field Trials, NCAA Track & Field Championships, Boston and New York City Marathons, IAAF World Track & Field Championships and the Olympic Games. A 1963 graduate of Boston College, Rawson was inducted into the BC Athletic Hall of Fame in 1984-85.

This year’s LSU Alumni Gold meet will follow Saturday afternoon at the Bernie Moore Track Stadium as the championship finals will begin following a brief opening ceremony at 2:10 p.m.

“This event provides us with an opportunity to not only honor the performance of our student-athletes this past year, but it also gives us a chance honor our alumni who have made this program what it is today,” said LSU head coach Dennis Shaver. “The response we received from those attending last season was just tremendous. We want this event to keep growing well into the future.

“We’re also very proud this year to have Larry Rawson serve as our Master of Ceremonies. He’s someone who is very recognizable to fans of our sport with his work at ESPN. His resume speaks for itself. We feel that he has the knowledge and experience to really help in the growth of this wonderful event.”

Current members of the LSU track and field teams will be honored during the banquet ceremony for their performance during the 2010 outdoor, 2010 cross country and 2011 indoor seasons.

The LSU coaching staff has received and confirmed RSVPs from 79 alumni who plan to be in attendance, which represents six decades of the program from the 1950s through the 2000s.

Among the alumni scheduled to attend are eight Olympians, 18 NCAA champions and 37 All-Americans, representing the rich history and diversity of the LSU track and field program. Not only that, but four members of the LSU Athletics Hall of Fame are expected to attend Friday’s banquet, which includes Harry Carpenter (1954-57), Billy Hardin (1962-64), Delmon McNabb (1965-66) and Eric Reid (1984-87).

“We want this to be an annual event in which we not only honor our current student-athletes, but we do so to recognize the impact that our current alumni continue to have on our success,” Shaver said. “That is the goal we had when we started this a year ago. We look forward to a great evening on Friday night.”

Alumni RSVPs for Friday’s Team Banquet

R. Paul Adams (1952-54)
Gray Barrow (1979-81, 1983)^
Claston Bernard (1998-2002)*#^
Edwin Billot (2006)^
Pete Boudreaux (1963-66)
Bennie Brazell (2002-05)#^
Richard Briede (1974-77)
Larry Brooks (1952-55)
Louis Callaway III (1982-87)
Harry Carpenter (1954-57)
Jamison Carter (2000-05)
Eddie Cole (1966-71)
John Duhon (1981-84)
Mark Elliott (1989-90)^
Ryan Fontenot (2005-08)
Jimmy Fornaris (1959-62)
Rabun Fox (2005-09)
Passmore Furusa (1994-95)^
Marvin Gibson (1994-95)
Gerald Green (2000-01)
Billy Hardin (1962-64)*#^
Ted Heroman (1971-74)
Jeremy Hicks (2005-09)^
Wayne Hobley (2007)
Maurice Horton (1990-91)^
Jamaal James (2007-10)^
Carl Jeansonne (1989-90)
Richard Jones (2009-10)^
Brent Martin (1999-2002)
Delmon McNabb (1965-66)#^
Allen Misher (1973-76)^
Tim Olack (1971-74)
Dave Paddison (1991-94)^
Jeffrey Parker (2006-07)
Isa Phillips (2006-07)*#^
Eric Reid (1984-87)#^
Joel Robideaux
Meliville Rogers (2006-07)#^
Mark Rose (1980-83)
Richard Thompson (2005-08)*#^
Reuben Twijukye (2007-08)^
Larry Vollmer (1972-74)
Lloyd Wills (1969-73)
Joe Womack (1967-68)

Donalda Abadie (1988-91)^
Leslie Nixon-Adams (1985-88)^
Angel Boyd (2005-08)
Juanita Broaddus (2006-08)#^
Monique Cabral (2006-09)
Andrea Carter (2005-09)^
Kathy Coleman (2006-08)
Kristina Davis (2007-10)
Katie Dawson (2005-08)
Lindsay Day (2005-09)
Jemia Ellis (1999-2002)
Elaine Gomez-Greenfield (1981-84)
Tina Harris (2004-07)^
Jenna Henssler (2009-10)
Loren Johnson (2007-10)
Lolo Jones (2001-04)*#^
Liann Kellman (2009-10)
Deonna Lawrence (2005-08)#^
Muna Lee (2001-04)*#^
Sharon Lewis (1989-90)
Danyel Mitchell (1991-94)#^
Brooklynn Morris (2005-08)#^
Kelli O’Donoghue (1990-94)
Jessica Ohanaja (2005-08)^
Debbie Parris-Thymes (1991-94)*#^
Sheila Powell (1993-96)#^
Hazelann Regis-Beckles (2003-05)*#^
Katelyn Rodrigue (2007-10)
April Sams (1998-2000)^
Dechelle Simon (1998-2002)
LaTavia Thomas (2007-10)#^
Mallory Thompson (2006-09)
Kayann Thompson (2008-10)^
Sa’Donna Thornton (1997-2000)#^
Lindsey Turner (2008-09)

* – Olympians
# – NCAA Champions
^ – All-Americans