LSU Gold

Peterson, Nevis Named AP All-Americans

by (@LSUsports)
Peterson, Nevis Named AP All-Americans

BATON ROUGE — LSU cornerback Patrick Peterson was named to the Associated Press All-America First Team on Tuesday, while defensive tackle Drake Nevis was on the second team.

Peterson, who received the Thorpe and Bednarik Awards this past week, became the school’s 56th first-teamer.

The Southeastern Conference had 19 football players receive Associated Press All-America honors, including five earning first-team mention.

SEC Champion Auburn Tigers had four players make the AP team, including QB Cam Newton and DT Nick Fairley on the first team, OT Lee Ziemba on the second team and C Ryan Pugh on the third team. 

Other members of the first-team were Kentucky’s Randall Cobb, who was named as an all-purpose player, Peterson and Florida P Chas Henry. 

Alabama also had four players earn AP All-America status – WR Julio Jones and SAF Mark Barron on the second team, and OG Barrett Jones and DT Marcell Dareus on the third team. 

Joining Peterson on the AP team from LSU is Nevis, who was a second team selection.  Henry was joined on the AP team by fellow Gator Ahmad Black, who was a second team choice at safety.

Georgia teammates LB Justin Houston and P Drew Butler earned second-team honors while the South Carolina duo of WR Alshon Jeffery (second-team) and CB Stephon Gilmore (third-team) earned AP honors.

Mississippi State OT Derek Sherrod was named to the second-team and Arkansas TE D.J. Williams was named to the third-team.

Check back for the complete story.



Quarterback – Cam Newton, junior, 6-foot-6, 250 pounds, Auburn.
Running backs – LaMichael James, sophomore, 5-9, 185, Oregon; Kendall Hunter, junior, 5-9, 200, Oklahoma State.
Tackles – Gabe Carimi, senior, 6-7, 327, Wisconsin; Nate Solder, senior, 6-9, 315, Colorado.
Guards – Rodney Hudson, senior, 6-2, 282, Florida State; John Moffitt, senior, 6-5, 323, Wisconsin.
Center – Chase Beeler, senior, 6-3, 285, Stanford.
Tight end – Michael Egnew, junior, 6-6, 235, Missouri.
Wide receivers – Justin Blackmon, sophomore, 6-1, 205, Oklahoma State; Ryan Broyles, junior, 5-11, 183, Oklahoma.
All-purpose player – Randall Cobb, junior, 5-11, 186, Kentucky.
Kicker – Alex Henery, senior, 6-2, 175, Nebraska.

Ends – Da’Quan Bowers, junior, 6-4, 275, Clemson; Ryan Kerrigan, senior, 6-4, 263, Purdue.
Tackles – Nick Fairley, junior, 6-5, 298, Auburn; Stephen Paea, senior, 6-1, 311, Oregon State.
Linebackers – Luke Kuechly, sophomore, 6-3, 235, Boston College; Greg Jones, senior, 6-1, 240, Michigan State; Von Miller, senior, 6-3, 243, Texas A&M.
Cornerbacks – Patrick Peterson, junior, 6-1, 222, LSU; Prince Amukamara, senior, 6-1, 205, Nebraska.
Safeties – Tejay Johnson, senior, 6-1, 212, TCU; Quinton Carter, senior, 6-1, 200, Oklahoma.
Punter – Chas Henry, junior, 6-3, 222, Florida.


Quarterback – Andrew Luck, sophomore, Stanford.
Running backs – Jordan Todman, junior, Connecticut; Mikel Leshoure, junior, Illinois.
Tackles – Lee Ziemba, senior, Auburn; Derek Sherrod, senior, Mississippi State.
Guards – Stefen Wisniewski, senior, Penn State; Justin Boren, senior, Ohio State.
Center – Jake Kirkpatrick, senior, TCU.
Tight end – Lance Kendricks, senior, Wisconsin.
Wide receivers – Alshon Jeffrey, sophomore, South Carolina; Julio Jones, junior, Alabama.
All-purpose player – Damaris Johnson, junior, Tulsa.
Kicker – Dan Bailey, senior, Oklahoma State.

Ends – J.J. Watt, junior, Wisconsin; Jeremy Beal, senior, Oklahoma.
Tackles – Drake Nevis, senior, LSU; Jared Crick, junior, Nebraska.
Linebackers – Tank Carder, junior, TCU; Justin Houston, junior, Georgia; Lavonte David, junior, Nebraska.
Cornerbacks – Jayron Hosley, sophomore, Virginia Tech; Cliff Harris, sophomore, Oregon.
Safeties – Mark Barron, junior, Alabama; Ahmad Black, senior, Florida.
Punter – Drew Butler, junior, Georgia.


Quarterback – Kellen Moore, junior, Boise State.
Running backs – Vai Taua, senior, Nevada; John Clay, junior, Wisconsin.
Tackles – Anthony Castonzo, senior, Boston College; Nate Potter, junior, Boise State.
Guards – Barrett Jones, sophomore, Alabama; Caleb, Schlauderaff, senior, Utah.
Center – Ryan Pugh, senior, Auburn.
Tight end – D.J. Williams, senior, Arkansas.
Wide receivers – Greg Salas, sophomore, Hawaii; Titus Young, senior, Boise State.
All-purpose player – Denard Robinson, sophomore, Michigan.
Kicker – Dannny Hrapmann, junior, Southern Mississippi.

Ends – Adrian Clayborn, senior, Iowa; Sam Acho, senior, Texas.
Tackles – Billy Winn, junior, Boise State; Marcell Dareus, junior, Alabama.
Linebackers – Mason Foster, senior, Washington; Nate Irving, senior, North Carolina State; Akeem Ayers, junior, UCLA.
Cornerbacks – Reggie Rembert, senior, Air Force; Stephon Gilmore, freshman, South Carolina.
Safeties – Rahim Moore, junior, UCLA; Eric Hagg, senior, Nebraska.
Punter – Kyle Martens, junior, Rice.