LSU Gold

Peterson Travels to Lott Awards Banquet

by Bill Martin (@LSUBillMartin)
Peterson Travels to Lott Awards Banquet

NEWPORT BEACH, Calif. – Already the recipient of the Thorpe Award and Bednarik Award as the nation’s top defensive player, LSU cornerback Patrick Peterson seeks to add another honor to his impressive collection when he and three other finalists gather for the 2010 Ronnie Lott IMPACT Trophy presentation on Sunday night at the Pacific Club.

The show will be televised live at 10 p.m. CT on Fox Sports Net affiliates. 

The Lott Trophy, named in honor of Pro Football Hall of Famer Ronnie Lott, is presented annually to the college football Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year. IMPACT is an acronym for: integrity, maturity, performance, academics, community, and tenacity. The award equally recognizes the personal character of the winning player as well as his athletic excellence.

In addition to Peterson, the finalists are Sam Acho of Texas, Casey Matthews of Oregon and J.J. Watt of Wisconsin.

Peterson is aiming to be the second player in LSU history to claim the award, joining Glenn Dorsey who won it during the 2007 national championship season. Peterson, already one of the most decorated players in school history, was LSU’s first Thorpe Award and Bednarik Award winner on Thursday night at the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards in Walt Disney World.

He and Auburn quarterback Cam Newton racked up the most awards of any players during the show, including being named a Walter Camp First-Team All-American. Peterson is also the Southeastern Conference Defensive and Special Teams Player of the Year. He was recognized as a Football Writers Association All-American on Saturday.

The Lott Trophy winner is voted upon by members of the national media, previous finalists, the board of directors of the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation and legendary coaches. Board of Directors members include: Ronnie Lott, Marcus Allen, Dick Enberg, Ann Meyers Drysdale, Frank Gifford and Pat Haden.