LSU Gold

Volleyball?s Johnson, Williams Get All-Region Mention

by Matt Dunaway
Volleyball?s Johnson, Williams Get All-Region Mention

LEXINGTON, Ky. – LSU setter Brittney Johnson and middle blocker Michele Williams garnered American Volleyball Coaches Association [AVCA] All-South Region Honorable Mention status Tuesday as announced by the governing body of collegiate volleyball.

LSU had its run of three consecutive seasons with multiple AVCA All-South Region First-Team selections come to a close. 

“We’re certainly proud of Brittney and Michele for their outstanding seasons,” head coach Fran Flory said. “They were key parts to our success, and our team wouldn’t have been able to accomplish what it did without their contributions.”

Johnson not only headlines the SEC but ranks No. 42 nationally with 10.80 assists per set. She has been instrumental to LSU’s offense as the Tigers rank among the NCAA Top 25 in assists per set (13.28), kills per set (14.35) and hitting percentage (.260).

The Baton Rouge native fueled a quartet of hitters to over 2.45 kills per set highlighted by Angela Bensend and Desiree Elliott, a pair All-SEC First-Team performers. She also secured a team-best 10 double-doubles.

Williams, an All-SEC Second-Team selection, powered home 334 kills and her 3.12 per set average is eighth in the SEC. She notched double digit kills 18 times sparked by 13 efforts during SEC play.

The Magnolia, Texas, product attacked at over a .300 hitting percentage on 17 occasions and her .309 ratio was just outside the SEC’s Top 10. She was second on the team with 90 blocks.  

LSU compiled a 25-5 record en route to its sixth straight SEC Western Division title. The Tigers also are one of only 18 programs nationally to qualify for the last six NCAA Tournaments dating back to the 2005 season.

Below are the complete AVCA All-South Regions awards.

2010 AVCA All-South Region

Player, School, Position, Class
Lauren Bledsoe, Florida, MB, Sr.
Nikki Fowler, Tennessee, RS/Opp, Sr.
Leah Hinkey, Tennessee, MB, Sr.
Kristy Jaeckel, Florida, OH, Jr.
Kayla Jeter, Tennessee, OH, Jr.
Alex Kelly, Lipscomb, MB, Sr.
Izabela Kozon, Middle Tennessee State, OH, Sr.
Kelly Murphy, Florida, RS/S, Jr.
Stacy Oladinni, Middle Tennessee State, MB, Jr.
Stefine Pease, Lipscomb, S, Sr.
Lauren Rapp, Kentucky, RS/Opp, Sr.
Callie Rivers, Florida, OH, Sr.
Melanie Stutsman, Western Kentucky, S, Fr.
Regina Thomas, Ole Miss, MB, Jr.

Region Freshman of the Year: Melanie Stutsman, Western Kentucky, S

Honorable Mention: Kayla Albritton (Belmont, RS/OH, Sr.), Cole Dawley (Charleston, S, Sr.), Tiffany Elmore (Western Kentucky, MB, Jr.), Brittney Johnson (LSU, S, Sr.), Miranda Kitts (Ole Miss, MB, Sr.), Michele Williams (LSU, MB, Jr.)