LSU Gold

Chapman, Martineau Headline All-State Soccer

by Will Stafford (@WillStaffordLSU)
Chapman, Martineau Headline All-State Soccer

HAMMOND, La. – LSU junior defender Allysha Chapman was selected as the 2010 Louisiana Sports Writers Association Women’s Soccer Player of the Year, as the LSWA announced its 2010 All-Louisiana Collegiate Women’s Soccer Teams on Saturday.

Chapman was one of two Tigers to earn individual honors. LSU junior midfielder Natalie Martineau was tabbed the state’s top newcomer.

The other two individual award winners came from the Southland Conference. McNeese State midfielder Johnna Germany was named the LSWA Freshman of the Year, while Southeastern Louisiana head coach Blake Hornbuckle was selected as the Coach of the Year.

Selected the LSWA Newcomer of the Year a season ago, Chapman is the second straight LSU student-athlete to take home state Player of the Year honors, as former teammate Malorie Rutledge won the award in 2009. A Courtice, Ont. native, Chapman established herself as the premier left back in the Southeastern Conference.

A first team All-SEC performer, Chapman helped anchor an LSU back line that tied a school record for fewest goals allowed with 16. With Chapman leading the way, the Tigers tied for the SEC lead for fewest goals allowed and were second in the conference with a 0.72 season goals against average.

While Chapman paced the LSU defensive effort, Martineau stepped in as a leader of the Tiger offensive attack in her first season in Baton Rouge. Martineau, who hails from Oakville, Ont., tied for the team lead with five goals – including game-winners versus South Alabama, Auburn and Kentucky.

Germany led McNeese State in every offensive category to become the first Cowgirl LSWA Freshman of the Year winner since 2010 All-Louisiana honorable mention selection Alana Clark took the honor in 2007. The Tyler, Texas product finished with six goals, five assists and 17 points on the year, finishing in the Southland top 10 in all three categories.

Rounding out the individual award winners was Hornbuckle, who was named the state’s top coach for the second straight season and fifth time in his career. Selected the Southland Conference Coach of the Year for the third time in his career earlier this month, Hornbuckle was honored after leading Southeastern to the fifth Southland regular season title in school history. Under his direction, the Lady Lions matched a single-season school record with 15 victories, posting a 15-3-3 overall mark.

Hornbuckle’s squad also earned a state-high four first team All-Louisiana selections. Leading the Lady Lion representatives was junior goalkeeper Lacey Bockhaus, who earned Southland Co-Player of the Year honors after leading the league in goals against average (0.64), shutouts (nine) and save percentage (.873). A first team All-Louisiana pick for the second straight season, the San Leandro, Calif. native finished her junior season as the Southland career record holder with 30 shutouts.

Southeastern also placed its top three scorers on the first team in sophomore forward Maiya Cooper (11 goals, four assists), senior midfielder Natalie Santana (eight goals, six assists) and sophomore forward Karly Dagys (six goals, nine assists). All three were first team All-Southland choices last month, while Cooper and Santana are both first team All-Louisiana picks for the second straight year.

Southeastern was one of two state institutions to place multiple student-athletes on the All-Louisiana first team. Louisiana Tech senior forwards Kiva Gresham and Rachel King were both named to the first team for the second straight season.

Greshman, who hails from Albuquerque, N.M., was a second team All-Western Athletic Conference selection after finishing with 12 goals and eight assists and completing her career as the Lady Techsters’ all-time career assist leader. King, an O’Fallon, Mo. native, was also second team All-WAC after scoring a school-record and league-leading 13 goals.

Individual award winners Chapman and Germany were two of five first team selections who were the lone representatives from their respective schools. Two of the state’s top scorers in LSU Shreveport sophomore forward Brooke Martin (17 goals) and senior forward Kaity Mattsson of Nicholls (12 goals) also earned first team nods.

Rounding out the first team was Louisiana-Lafayette senior midfielder Courtney Hofland. The Scott native helped the Ragin’ Cajuns to their first-ever 10-win season and finished her career as the school’s standard bearer in career assists, points, shots, matches played and matches started.

Eighteen student-athletes representing nine different state institutions earned All-Louisiana honorable mention honors. The 2010 LSWA All-Louisiana Collegiate Women’s Soccer Teams were selected by the state’s sports information directors.

2010 LSWA All-Louisiana College Women’s Soccer Team

Name, University, Pos., Cl., Hometown
Allysha Chapman, LSU, D, Jr., Courtice, Ont.
Maiya Cooper, Southeastern Louisiana, F, So., Hawthorne, Calif.
Kiva Gresham, Louisiana Tech, F, Sr., Albuquerque, N.M.
Natalie Santana, Southeastern Louisiana, MF, Sr., Cypress, Calif.
Brooke Martin, LSU Shreveport, F, So., San Antonio, Texas
Kaity Mattsson, Nicholls, F, Sr., Bracebridge, Ont.
Rachel King, Louisiana Tech, F, Sr., O’Fallon, Mo.
Johnna Germany, McNeese State, MF, Fr., Tyler, Texas
Karly Dagys, Southeastern Louisiana, F, So., Oakville, Ont.
Cayla Chatman, Louisiana-Lafayette, F, So., Houma, La.
Lacey Bockhaus, Southeastern Louisiana, GK, Jr., San Leandro, Calif.

Player of the Year: Allysha Chapman, LSU
Freshman of the Year: Johnna Germany, McNeese State
Newcomer of the Year: Natalie Martineau, LSU
Coach of the Year: Blake Hornbuckle, Southeastern Louisiana

Honorable Mention: Scotti Culton, Louisiana Tech; Addie Eggleston, LSU; Taylor Dennis, Louisiana Tech; Natalie Martineau, LSU; Nicole Brannigan, Southeastern Louisiana; Ashley Pope, LSU-Shreveport; Kyle MacIntosh, Southeastern Louisiana; Kayla King, Northwestern State; Brittany Prieto, Southeastern Louisiana; Gayla Foster, Louisiana-Lafayette; Courtney Hofland, Louisiana-Lafayette; Chelsea Balestra, Louisiana-Lafayette; Alana Clark, McNeese State; Holden Penney, Centenary; Ashlee Savona, Northwestern State; Shanyce Shaw, Southeastern Louisiana; Megan Kinneman, LSU; Molly Mersereau, Nicholls.