Women's Tennis to Face Alabama in SEC's

by Molly Clark
SEC Tournament Bracket SEC Tournament Schedule +0
Women's Tennis to Face Alabama in SEC's

BATON ROUGE — The LSU women’s tennis team will be the eighth seed in the Southeastern Conference Tournament hosted by Georgia April 22-25, the league office announced Sunday.

LSU (9-14) finished 4-7 in SEC play, and the Lady Tigers will take on No. 9 seed Alabama in the first round at 9 a.m. CT Thursday at the McWhorter Courts.

The Lady Tigers ousted the Crimson Tide, 5-2, on April 2 at home.

Should LSU advance to the quarterfinals, the Lady Tigers would face No. 1 seed Florida, who defeated LSU, 7-0, March 7 at Linder Stadium in Gainesville, Fla.

The tournament will get underway at 9 a.m. when the Lady Tigers and Crimson Tide compete and No. 5 South Carolina takes on No. 12 Kentucky. 

No. 6 Vanderbilt will play No. 11 Mississippi State and No. 7 Arkansas will face No. 10 Auburn at 1 p.m. to close out first round action.

Florida, No. 2 Ole Miss, No. 3 Tennessee and No. 4 Georgia receive first round byes.

The championship will be played April 25 at 11 a.m.

Last season 10th-seeded LSU fell to Ole Miss in the first round, 4-1.