Cooper, Flory Recognized at AVCA Banquet

by Matt Dunaway
Cooper, Flory Recognized at AVCA Banquet

TAMPA, Fla.  ? LSU middle blocker Brittnee Cooper and head coach Fran Flory were recognized at the American Volleyball Coaches Association [AVCA] All-America/Players of the Year Banquet presented by Zamst over the weekend as part of the 2009 NCAA Final Four and AVCA Annual Convention.

Cooper was presented with her AVCA All-America trophy and gave a two-minute speech where she thanked her coaches, family and the AVCA All-America at the ceremony.

The Houston, Texas product was one of 14 players nationally to be selected to AVCA All-America First-Team accolades. She joins Monique Adams [1990 & 1991] and Angie Miller [1992] as the only Tigers selected to this prestigious honor in program history. 

Flory picked up her AVCA Victory Club award for her 200th win at LSU. The historic victory came during the Tigers 3-0 triumph over Notre Dame at the Shamrock Invitational on August 30. Sam Dabbs passed out 35 assists and fueled LSU to a .347 hitting percentage. Michele Williams knocked a team-best 11 kills and notched four blocks en route to Tournament MVP honors.

LSU put together an impressive 25-7 record in 2009 en route to the program’s first SEC regular season title since 1991. Under Flory, the defending five-time SEC Western Division champions are one of only 20 programs in the nation to appear in the last five NCAA Tournaments.