Swimming & Diving Remains in Top 25

by Jesse Delerno
Swimming & Diving Remains in Top 25

BATON ROUGE — The LSU men’s and women’s swimming and diving teams will go into the new year and second half of the season nationally-ranked as each remained ranked in its respective monthly poll released by the College Swimming Coaches Association of America Tuesday.

The LSU men (1-4, 0-3 SEC), who have been ranked as high as No. 15 this season, are 18th in the latest poll. The Tigers last competed as a team in November when they emerged victorious at the University of Houston’s Cougar Classic Fall Invitational. The Lady Tigers (2-4, 0-3 SEC), who placed third out of nine teams in Houston, remained at No. 21.

The swimming teams will race again in the beginning of January with several competitions in the state of Florida before returning home for their annual dual meet with Texas A&M. However, the LSU divers return to action this week when they compete in the University of Alabama’s Christmas Diving Classic, beginning Dec. 17.

The Tigers are one of seven Southeastern Conference teams represented in the men’s poll, while the LSU women are one of six SEC squads in the women’s rankings. The Georgia women led the way for the conference as the Lady Bulldogs held onto the top spot in the women’s poll.

The CSCAA rankings are based on each team’s best dual-meet lineup as judged by voting coaches. The next set of polls is scheduled to be released on Jan. 6, 2010.

Men’s Rankings

1. Texas (17)
2. Stanford (6)
3. California (1)
4. Arizona (9)
5. Auburn (4)
6. Florida
7. Michigan
8. Minnesota
9. Virginia
10. Georgia
11. Tennessee
12. Ohio State
13. USC

14. North Carolina
15. Florida State
16. Louisville
17. Kentucky
18. LSU
19. Purdue
20. Indiana
21. Alabama
22. Texas A&M
23. UNLV
24. Hawaii
25. Virginia Tech

Women’s Rankings

1. Georgia (24)
2. Arizona (9)
3. Stanford (8)
4. Texas (2)
5. California (1)
6. Texas A&M
7. Florida
8. Auburn
9. USC
10. Minnesota
11. Virginia
12. Indiana
13. Tennessee
14. Louisville
15. North Carolina
16. Michigan
17. Wisconsin
18. Arkansas
19. SMU
20. Virginia Tech
21. LSU

22. Purdue
23. Northwestern
24. Florida State
25. Missouri