LSU Gold

Coleman Named MVP at Football Banquet

by Michael Bonnette (@LSUBonnette)
Coleman Named MVP at Football Banquet

BATON ROUGE — Linebacker Harry Coleman, defensive backs Chad Jones and Patrick Peterson and wide receiver Brandon LaFell headlined the list of award winners at LSU’s annual senior banquet held Sunday night.

Coleman, a senior from Baldwin, La., was named the recipient of the Charles McClendon Most Valuable Player Award as well as being one of three permanent team captains. Coleman, who started all 12 games for the Tigers after being converted to linebacker from safety, finished the year with 77 tackles, nine tackles for losses and four sacks. He was named the SEC Defensive Player of the Week for his performance in LSU’s 31-10 win over Auburn.

LaFell, a senior wide receiver from Houston, earned the Percy E Roberts Award as the team’s most outstanding offensive player. LaFell, a second-team All-SEC pick, led the Tigers with 52 receptions for 705 yards and 10 touchdowns.

Chad Jones and Patrick Peterson shared the Percy E. Roberts Award as LSU’s outstanding defensive players. Jones, a safety, finished with 66 tackles and a team-best three interceptions for a Tiger defense that ranked third in the SEC in points allowed at 16.0 per game. Peterson, a second-team All-SEC pick at cornerback, recorded 47 tackles and ranked third in the SEC with 15 passes defended.

Joining Coleman as permanent team captains for the Tigers were Ciron Black on offense and Josh Jasper on special teams. Jasper, who converted 16 of 19 field goals this year, also shared the Special Teams Player of the Year honor with return specialist Trindon Holliday. Holliday led the SEC and ranked No. 2 in the nation in punt returns with a 17.7 average.

The Jeff Boss Unsung Hero award was presented to five Tigers ? wide receiver R.J. Jackson, wide receiver Terrence Toliver, tight end Richard Dickson, defensive back Danny McCray and linebacker Perry Riley.

Lyle Hitt, who is scheduled to graduate later this week with a degree in kinesiology, was named the Coates Scholar-Athlete Award as the top student-athlete on the football team.

The Alvin Roy Strength and Conditioning Award was presented to defensive tackle Al Woods and linebacker Jacob Cutrera, while Kelvin Sheppard and Drake Nevis were named the recipients of the George M. Wallace Award for defensive performance. Sheppard led the Tigers with 103 tackles, while Nevis was tops among all defensive linemen on the team with 48 tackles, including 10 tackles for losses.

The Butch Duhe Award for character, unselfishness, and commitment was given to defensive tackle Charles Alexander, defensive end Rahim Alem, defensive back Daniel Graff, and offensive tackle Joseph Barksdale.

2009 LSU Football Banquet Awards

Charles McClendon Most Valuable Player:
LB Harry Coleman

Percy E. Roberts Outstanding Offensive Player:
WR Brandon LaFell

Percy E. Roberts Outstanding Defensive Player:
S Chad Jones, CB Patrick Peterson

National L-Club Permanent Team Captains:
Offense ? OT Ciron Black
Defense ? LB Harry Coleman
Special Teams ? PK Josh Jasper

Jeff Boss Unsung Hero Award:
WR R.J. Jackson, WR Terrence Toliver, DB Danny McCray, TE Richard Dickson, LB Perry Riley

George E. Wallace Memorial Award:
LB Kelvin Sheppard, DT Drake Nevis

Special Teams Player of the Year:
PK Josh Jasper, RS Trindon Holliday

Coates Scholar-Athlete Award:
OG Lyle Hitt

Alvin Roy Strength and Conditioning Award:
DT Al Woods, LB Jacob Cutrera