LSU Gold

Volleyball?s Flory Garners AVCA Regional Honor

by Matt Dunaway
Volleyball?s Flory Garners AVCA Regional Honor

LEXINGTON, Ky. — LSU volleyball head coach Fran Flory picked up AVCA South Region Coach of the Year honors Wednesday as announced by the governing body of collegiate body.

It marked the second time in her career that Flory, the 2009 SEC Coach of the Year, has earned this prestigious honor. She won the same award as Kentucky head coach in 1993. Former LSU coach Scott Luster also was named AVCA Region Coach of the Year in 1988. 

Flory is one of eight finalists who will represent their region on the 2009 AVCA National Coach of the Year ballot. That award will be presented at the 2009 jostens Coaches Honors Luncheon at the AVCA Annual Convention prior to Final Four in Tampa. 

LSU racked up an impressive 25-7 record in 2009 en route to the program’s first SEC regular season title since 1991. The defending five-time SEC Western Division champions also made a program-record fifth straight NCAA Tournament appearance under Flory. 

AVCA Northeast Region ? Debbie Brown [Notre Dame]
AVCA Pacific Region ? Rob Browning [St. Mary’s]
AVCA South Region ? Fran Flory [LSU]
AVCA Central Region ? Christy Johnson [Iowa State]
AVCA Midwest Region ? Rick Nold [Jacksonville State]
AVCA East Region ? Chris Poole [Florida State]
AVCA Mideast Region ? Russ Rose [Penn State]
AVCA West Region ? Dave Shoji [Hawai`i]