Rutledge, Chapman Head All-State Soccer Team

by (@LSUsports)
Rutledge, Chapman Head All-State Soccer Team

By Kemmler Chapple
Written for the LSWA

HAMMOND, La. — After advancing to the NCAA Tournament, LSU and Southeastern Louisiana combined for seven first team selections and swept the individual honors, as the Louisiana Sports Writers Association announced its 2009 All-Louisiana Collegiate Women’s Soccer Teams on Saturday.

The Lady Tigers placed a state-high four players on the first team, led by senior midfielder Malorie Rutledge, who was named the state’s Player of the Year. Allysha Chapman also took home individual honors for LSU, earning Newcomer of the Year honors.

After leading the Lady Lions to their first-ever trip to the NCAA Tournament, Southeastern head coach Blake Hornbuckle was named the Coach of the Year for the fourth time in his career. Hornbuckle’s top scorer this season was Maiya Cooper, who was named Freshman of the Year.

Rutledge was nearly a unanimous pick for the state’s top honor after leading LSU to its third straight Southeastern Conference West Division title. The Sharpsburg, Ga. native was named the SEC Offensive Player of the Year after leading the conference with 13 goals, 12 assists and 38 points. Rutledge finished her career as the school’s all-time leader with 102 points and 46 assists.

Rutledge was joined on the first team by teammates Melissa Clarke, Carlie Banks and Chelsea Potts. Clarke (12 goals, five assists) and Banks (seven goals, four assists) were both compliments to Rutledge in a dangerous LSU attack. Potts was the team’s top defender, helping LSU allow only 18 goals in 24 matches played.

Chapman, who earned top newcomer honors, was also a big part of LSU’s defensive efforts in her first season out of UAB. The Courtice, Ont. native was named second team All-SEC after starting all 24 matches.

Hornbuckle’s Southeastern squad was among the nation’s best both offensively and defensively, ranking in the top 15 in both scoring offense and defense. Earning its inaugural trip to the NCAA Tournament with a 2-0 win over Texas State in the Southland Conference Tournament, Southeastern set Southland Conference records for assists (57), fewest goals allowed (13) and shutouts (13). The 12th-year Lady Lion leader was previously named LSWA Coach of the Year in 1998, 1999 and 2003.

A Southeastern attack which finished the season with 56 goals as a team was led by Cooper. The state’s top freshman – who hails from Hawthorne, Calif. – finished the season with a team-high 14 goals and 32 points in her first collegiate season.

Cooper was joined on the first team by fellow Lady Lions Natalie Santana and Lacey Bockhaus. Santana led the Southland Conference in assists for the second straight season with 10, while also scoring nine goals. Bockhaus was the state’s top goalkeeper, setting a Southland Conference record with 12 shutouts, while also posting a school record 0.64 goals against average.

Louisiana Tech also had multiple first team All-Louisiana selections. The top scoring duo of Kiva Greshman (eight goals, six assists) and Rachel King (11 goals) represented the Lady Techsters on the squad.

The first team was rounded out by Centenary sophomore forward Katie Valdez and McNeese State junior midfielder Alana Clark. Valdez finished with 10 goals and nine points for the Ladies, while Clark was the top Cowgirls’ performer with nine goals and three assists.

Fifteen student-athletes representing seven different state institutions earned All-Louisiana honorable mention honors. The 2009 LSWA All-Louisiana Collegiate Women’s Soccer Teams were selected by the state’s sports information directors.

2009 LSWA All-Louisiana Women’s Soccer Team

First Team
Malorie Rutledge ? LSU ? MF ? Sr. ? Sharpsburg, Ga.
Melissa Clarke ? LSU ? MF ? Sr. ? Norcross, Ga.
Natalie Santana ? Southeastern La. ? MF ? Jr. ? Cypress, Calif.
Maiya Cooper ? Southeastern La. ? F ? Fr. ? Hawthorne, Calif.
Katie Valdez ? Centenary ? F ? So. ? Houston, Texas
Alana Clark ? McNeese State ? MF ? Jr. ? Tuscon, Ariz.
Carlie Banks ? LSU ? F ? Fr. ? Peachtree City, Ga.
Rachel King ? Louisiana Tech ? F/MF ? So. ? O’Fallon, Mo.
Chelsea Potts ? LSU ? D ? Sr. ? Aurora, Ill.
Kiva Gresham ? Louisiana Tech ? D ? Sr. ? Aurora, Ill.
Lacey Bockhaus ? Southeastern La. ? GK ? So. ? San Leandro, Calif.

Player of the Year: Malorie Rutledge, LSU
Newcomer of the Year: Allysha Chapman, LSU
Freshman of the Year: Maiya Cooper, Southeastern Louisiana
Coach of the Year: Blake Hornbuckle, Southeastern Louisiana

Honorable Mention: Karly Dagys, Southeastern La.; Chelsea Gibbs, Northwestern State; Dana Mayer, Southeastern La.; Kaity Mattson, Nicholls; Candice Wallace, Southeastern La.; Chelsea Brozgold, Northwestern State; Keisha Brown, Nicholls; Cayla Chatman, Louisiana-Lafayette; Raydan Phillips, Louisiana-Monroe; Kyle MacIntosh, Southeastern La.; Carolyn Noble, Nicholls; Alyssa Chapman, LSU; Allison Rucinski, Centenary; Mo Isom, LSU; D’Nae Capron, Southern