LSU Gold

Todd Walker Inducted Into College Baseball Hall of Fame

by (@LSUsports)
Walker to Enter College Baseball Hall +0
Todd Walker Inducted Into College Baseball Hall of Fame

BATON ROUGE — Former LSU all-America second baseman Todd Walker was inducted into the College Baseball Hall of Fame during Fourth of July Weekend festivities in Lubbock, Texas. Walker is one of 10 players and coaches comprising the 2009 Hall of Fame induction class.

Walker becomes the third LSU representative to enter the Hall of Fame, joining former coach Skip Bertman (inducted 2006) and former all-America pitcher Ben McDonald (inducted 2008).

Bertman joined Walker in Lubbock this weekend for the induction ceremony. Bertman coached Walker during the all-America infielder’s three-year LSU career (1992-94).

Walker, a 1998 graduate of LSU, was one of the greatest hitters in SEC history. A first team All-American two years in a row (1993-94), Walker led LSU to a national championship in 1993 as he earned the College World Series MVP award that year.  He was named first-team All-SEC three times and was the SEC Player of the Year in 1993.

Walker, a native of Bossier City, La., finished his collegiate career as the SEC all-time leader in hits, runs, RBI and total bases.  During his major league career from 1996-2007, Walker played for the Minnesota Twins, Colorado Rockies, Cincinnati Reds, Boston Red Sox, Chicago Cubs, San Diego Padres and Oakland Athletics. 

Walker was inducted into the LSU Athletics Hall of Fame in 2006.

Former players joining Walker in the 2009 College Baseball Hall of Fame class are Joe Carter, outfielder, Wichita State; Darren Dreifort, pitcher/DH, Wichita State; Kirk Dressendorfer, pitcher, Texas; Barry Larkin, shortstop, Michigan; Keith Moreland, catcher/utility, Texas; Rafael Palmeiro, outfielder, Mississippi State; Ron Polk, coach, Georgia Southern, Mississippi State, Georgia.

Also among the 2009 Hall of Fame class are one Vintage Era inductee and the first “small school” inductee. Branch Rickey, player and coach from Ohio Wesleyan and Michigan is the Vintage Era inductee. The Vintage Era designation is for those who played or coached prior to 1947.

Gordie Gillespie, head coach at the University of St. Francis, is the small-school inductee. His career at Lewis University and St. Francis has seen him become the winningest coach in college baseball history. The “small-school” designation is for two and four-year schools other than NCAA Division I.

Hall of Fame inductees are chosen based on the votes of more than 110 representatives from coast to coast. Voters include retired and active coaches, media members and previous inductees.

To be eligible for the College Baseball Hall of Fame ballot, players must have completed one year of competition at a two-year institution in the CCCAA or NJCAA or a four-year NCAA (Division I, II or III) or NAIA institution.