Lady Tigers Wrap Up Second Day in Minnesota

by (@LSUsports)
Lady Tigers Wrap Up Second Day in Minnesota

MINNEAPOLIS — The LSU women’s tennis team wrapped up day two at the Gopher Invitational on Saturday with four Lady Tigers advancing to the championship round of their respective bracket at the Baseline Tennis Center.

Two-time All-American and 15th-ranked Megan Falcon earned a berth in the Vikings Flight championship round by defeating Minnesota’s Alessandra Ferrazzi 7-6 (6), 6-3.

In the Timberwolves Singles Flight, Nicole Kantor and Nicole Smith will face each other on Sunday as both advanced to the championship round. Kantor beat Nebraska’s Mary Weatherholt in three sets 2-6, 6-4, (11-9). Smith reached the championship by beating fellow Lady Tiger freshman Whitney Wolf 2-6, 7-6 (7), (13-11) in a third set super tiebreaker.

Falcon and Mykala Hedberg, the 11th-ranked doubles team in the nation, cruised into the championship round of the Minnesota Flight by winning two matches. Falcon and Hedberg defeated Nebraska’s Wiveca Swarting and Madeleine Geibert and Minnesota’s Ferrazzi and Tijana Koprivica by identical 8-1 scores.

“I was pleased with how we played today,” head coach Tony Minnis said. “Having four girls in the finals is an exciting start to our season, and we are looking to finish strong in the tournament.”

LSU will conclude its stay in Minneapolis on Sunday when action begins in singles and doubles at 8 a.m. CT.

Gopher Invitational (Minneapolis, Minn.)
September 13, 2008
Day Two Results


Vikings Flight
#15 Megan Falcon (LSU) def. Alessandra Ferrazzi (MINN) 7-6 (6), 6-3
Alexis Dorr (IOWA) def. Mykala Hedberg (LSU) 6-4, 7-5
Lynne Poggensee-Wei (IOWA) def. Hannah Robinson (LSU) 6-3, 6-2

Timberwolves Flight
Nicole Kantor (LSU) def. Mary Weatherholt (NEB) 2-6, 6-4, (11-9)
Nicole Smith (LSU) def. Whitney Wolf (LSU) 2-6, 7-6 (7), (13-11)

Twins Flight
Sloane Mathis (LSU) vs. Alyssa Palen (ISU) postponed to Sunday
Kylie Adamek (LSU) vs. Joanna Woo (EMU) postponed to Sunday


Golden Flight
Ashley Finnegan/Abby Buxton (NEB) def. Kylie Adamek/Chandler Kleinpeter (LSU) 8-3
Katrina Eromin/Christen Monreal (AFA) def. Kylie Adamek/Chandler Kleinpeter (LSU) 8-4

Minnesota Flight
#11 Megan Falcon/Mykala Hedberg (LSU) def. Wiveca Swarting/Madeleine Geibert (NEB) 8-1
#11 Megan Falcon/Mykala Hedberg (LSU) def. Alessandra Ferrazzi/Tijana Koprivica (MINN) 8-1
Alessandra Ferazzi/Tijana Koprivica (MINN) def. Nicole Kantor/Nicole Smith (LSU) 8-4
Wiveca Swarting/Madeleine Geibert (NEB) def. Nicole Kantor/Nicole Smith (LSU) 8-4
Hannah Robinson/Whitney Wolf (LSU) def. Samantha Frank/Megan Gaard (GAC) 8-5
Jackie Sperling/Magdalena Wiecha (MINN) def. Hannah Robinson/Whitney Wolf (LSU) 9-7