Women's Golf Receives No. 7 Seed in NCAA Central Regional

by LSUsports.net (@LSUsports)
Women's Golf Receives No. 7 Seed in NCAA Central Regional

BATON ROUGE — The LSU women’s golf team received a good nod from the NCAA Women’s Golf Committee when it was named the No. 7 seed in a field of 21 for the NCAA Central Regional golf tournament, May 8-10, in Austin, Texas.

The selection of the Lady Tigers, ranked 20th in the Golfweek performance rankings and in the National Golf Coaches Association coaches’ poll, put the Tigers in a region away from several of the higher ranked teams it had battled through much of the season.

LSU is one of 63 golf teams chosen at three regional sites for the tournament with the top eight teams after 54-holes of play advancing to the NCAA Division I Golf Championships set for later in May at the University of New Mexico.

Seeded ahead of LSU in the Central Regional, to be played on the 6,301-yard, par 72 University of Texas Golf Course are No. 2 UCLA, No. 6 Purdue, No. 9 Alabama, No. 11 Denver, No. 13 Kent State and No. 18 Pepperdine. No. 24 Texas A&M is behind LSU as the eighth seed.

The regional selection marks the fifth straight year the Lady Tigers have advanced to regional play and LSU has only missed advancing to this round twice since the regionals were first used to determine the championship field in 1993.

“We are looking forward to the challenge,” said LSU women’s golf coach Karen Bahnsen, who has advanced eight teams to the NCAA Division I Women’s Golf Championships. “We are going to get the team’s finals out of the way and work hard to prepare for this event. We will be ready and we are very pleased with where we were placed by the committee.”

The rest of the Central Regional field starting with the ninth seed: Notre Dame, Texas, TCU, Florida State, North Carolina State, East Tennessee State, Texas Tech, Washington, Nebraska, Harvard, Texas State, Illinois State and Fairleigh-Dickinson.

The East regional, hosted by the University of Georgia, is topped by the three-time defending champions from Duke with SEC schools Florida, Georgia and Auburn the next three seeds. Southern California, the nation’s third-ranked team is the top seed in the West regional in Sacramento, Calif. Arkansas is the third seed in the West.

Only four teams have played tournament golf on the course this year in the March Betsy Rawls event and all are seeded below LSU ? Notre Dame, Texas, TCU and Nebraska.

The Lady Tigers will be looking to advance to the NCAA Division I Golf Championships for the first time since 2006 and for the ninth time overall.

Central Regional

The Central regional will be played May 8-10 at the University of Texas Golf Course, Austin, Texas, hosted by the University of Texas.  Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in parenthesis next to the institution.

2. Purdue (Big Ten Conference)
3. Alabama
4. Denver (Sun Belt Conference)
5. Kent State (Mid-American Conference)
6. Pepperdine       
7. LSU
8. Texas A&M
9. Notre Dame (Big East Conference)
10. Texas                  
11. TCU
12. Florida State
13. North Carolina State        
14. East Tennessee State (Atlantic Sun Conference)
15. Texas Tech
16. Washington
17. Nebraska
18. Harvard (Ivy Group)                                 
19. Texas State (Southland Conference)
20. Illinois State (Missouri Valley Conference)   
21. Fairleigh Dickinson (Northeast Conference)           

1. Steffi Kirchmayr, College of Charleston
2. Sara Wikstrom, Arkansas-Little Rock
3. Araceli Felgueroso, Coastal Carolina

East Regional

The East regional will be played May 8-10 at the UGA Golf Course, Athens, Georgia, hosted by the University of Georgia.  Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in parenthesis next to the institution.
1. Duke (Atlantic Coast Conference)
2. Florida ( Southeastern Conference)
3. Georgia
4. Auburn
5. Wake Forest
6. Tennessee
7. Virginia
8. New Mexico (Mountain West Conference)
9. Vanderbilt
10. Louisville
11. South Carolina
12. Furman (Southern Conference)
13. East Carolina
14. Georgia State
15. UCF
16. Missouri
17. Indiana
18. North Carolina-Wilmington (Colonial Athletic Association)
19. Jacksonville State (Ohio Valley Conference)
20. Charleston Southern (Big South Conference)
21. Jackson State (Southwestern Athletic Conference)

1. Dori Carter, Mississippi
2. Emma Degroot, Chattanooga
3. Paula Hurtado, Florida International

West Regional

The West regional will be played May 8-10 at the Lincoln Hills Golf Club, Lincoln, California, hosted by Sacramento State University.  Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in parenthesis next to the institution.

1. Southern California (Pacific-10 Conference)    
2. Arizona State
3. Arkansas
4. Arizona
5. Oklahoma State (Big 12 Conference)
6. California
7. Michigan State
8. Stanford
9. BYU                
10. Tulsa (Conference USA)
11. North Carolina
12. Ohio State
13. San Jose State
14. Oklahoma
15. Oregon
16. UNLV
17. UC Davis
18. UC Irvine (Big West Conference)
19. Fresno State (Western Athletic Conference)
20. Oral Roberts (The Summit League) 
21. Portland State (Big Sky Conference)               

1. Mallory Blackwelder, Kentucky
2. Danielle Cvitanov, San Francisco
3. Emily Powers, Kansas