McChrystal Named to All-SEC Women's Golf Teams

by (@LSUsports)
McChrystal Named to All-SEC Women's Golf Teams

BATON ROUGE — LSU freshman Megan McChrystal was named a second team All-SEC women’s golfer as announced by the Southeastern Conference office on Wednesday.

McChrystal, of Stuart, Fla., averaged 74.2 strokes per round during the regular season with one top five, three top 10s and six top 20 finishes, including a tie for 20th in her first SEC Championships this past weekend at the Tennessee National Golf Club in Loudon, Tenn.

McChrystal, who also was named to the league’s freshman team, had her best finish in the Lady Puerto Rico Classic, with a one-under 215 on rounds of 75-69-71. She also shot a season low round of four-under 68 in finishing at one-under 215 in the UCF Challenge, tying for 12th.

McChrystal was one of five freshmen on either the first or second teams, a total of 16 players.

Jill Briles-Hinton of Florida was the Coach of the Year after leading Florida to the conference crown and Stacy Lewis of Arkansas, the defending NCAA champion and this year’s SEC champion, was the Scholar-Athlete and Golfer of the Year. Auburn’s Cydney Clanton was named the SEC Freshman of the Year.

First Team All-SEC
Kathleen Ekey, Alabama, Jr.
Stacy Lewis, Arkansas, Sr.
Cydney Clanton, Auburn, Fr.
Whitney Myers, Florida, Sr.
Jessica Yadloczky, Florida, Fr.
Hannah Yun, Florida, Fr.
Dori Carter, Ole Miss, Jr.
Benedicte Toumpsin, South Carolina, So.

Second Team All-SEC
Candace Schepperle, Auburn, So.
Margaret Shirley, Auburn, Sr.
Tiffany Chudy, Florida, Sr.
Krystle Caithness, Georgia, Fr.
Garrett Phillips, Georgia, Sr.
Megan McChrystal, LSU, Fr.
Marci Turner, Tennessee, Sr.
Liebelei Lawrence, Vanderbilt, Sr.

Coach of the Year
Jill Briles-Hinton, Florida

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Stacy Lewis, Arkansas

Golfer of the Year
Stacy Lewis, Arkansas (unanimous)

Freshman of the Year
Cydney Clanton, Auburn

All-Freshman Team
Courtney Harter, Alabama
Camilla Lennarth, Alabama
Kelli Shean, Arkansas
Cydney Clanton, Auburn
Jessica Yadloczky, Florida
Hannah Yun, Florida
Krystle Caithness, Georgia
Megan McChrystal, LSU