Lady Tigers Tennis to Open SEC's Against Alabama

Lady Tigers Tennis to Open SEC's Against Alabama

BATON ROUGE — The sixth-seeded LSU women’s tennis team will travel to Auburn, Ala., to face 11th-seeded Alabama in the first round of the Southeastern Conference Tournament at 10 a.m. CT on Thursday.

LSU (13-8, 6-5 SEC) enters the tournament having won its last three conference matches. The Lady Tigers defeated Ole Miss, 6-1, on April 6 and Mississippi State, 5-1, on April 9. Last Saturday, LSU knocked off SEC West champion and then-No. 15 Arkansas, 5-2, to end the regular season.

Alabama (6-14, 2-9 SEC) enters the tournament having lost seven straight matches, but the Crimson Tide has beaten two conference teams in tight matches. On March 7, Alabama beat Mississippi State, 4-3, and on March 9, Alabama defeated Ole Miss, 4-3.

“I have a lot of respect for Alabama,” LSU head coach Tony Minnis said. “I expect a very tough match. I have been impressed with how they have improved as the season has gone on. In this league this year, everybody is good, so we have to come out and play with the same amount of enthusiasm and intensity as we have the last three matches.”

LSU faced Alabama in Baton Rouge to open conference play on Feb. 29, and the Lady Tigers came away with a 5-2 victory. LSU won the doubles point by winning on court Nos. 1-2. In singles, LSU clinched the match with three straight victories on courts 4, 5 and 1, respectively, before Alabama struck for its first win on court 6. After LSU won on court 2 to make it 5-1, Alabama won on court 3 to make the final score, 5-2.

With the win over the Crimson Tide, LSU holds a 25-9 all-time series advantage. However, in the tournament, LSU has only faced Alabama once. In 1991 LSU beat Alabama 5-1 in the first round.

The match will begin at the same time as the Ole Miss-Kentucky match. LSU will face Alabama on the Blue Courts (1-6), while Ole Miss and Kentucky will play on the Orange Courts (7-12). All matches in the tournament will be played at the City of Auburn/Auburn University Yarbrough Tennis Center.