Football Roster Divided For Spring Game; Format Set

by (@LSUsports)
Get Your Tickets Now +0
Football Roster Divided For Spring Game; Format Set

BATON ROUGE — The teams have been divided and the format has been set for LSU’s annual spring game, which will take place on Saturday at 5 p.m. in Tiger Stadium.

Saturday’s spring game will be played as a regulation contest for the first half, LSU coach Les Miles said. Miles said the clock could go to running time in the second half depending on how many plays had been run. The contest is expected to last two hours.

In addition, Miles said that he would rotate quarterbacks Andrew Hatch and Jarrett Lee with both the purple and white squads. Hatch, Lee and the remaining quarterbacks, along with all punters and placekickers, will wear green jerseys for the game. The contest will also feature kickoffs, punts, field goals and point-after-touchdowns.

“We divided the teams for the spring game and it will mostly be the first-team guys against second-team guys,” Miles said. “We put some key ones in with the twos, guys that will help give the second team a chance to score and defend. We also did that to see certain guys in specific match ups. The white team will be mostly first-team guys with the second-team guys being the purple team. We may have to handicap the score by starting the purple team with some points but we are going to see how it goes.”

“It will be a game-like situation for our players on Saturday. The opportunity to win and compete in front of a large crowd is there. I want to encourage everybody to be there because certainly your team is looking forward to seeing a big crowd and playing in front of the people they care for.”

The White team, consisting mainly of first teamers, will be led by offensive standouts in wide receivers Brandon LaFell and Demetrius Byrd along with running backs Keiland Williams and Richard Murphy. The White Team will also feature a starting offensive line of center Brett Helms, guards Lyle Hitt and Herman Johnson and tackles Ciron Black and Joseph Barksdale.

Defensively, the White unit will be led by linebacker Darry Beckwith, defensive linemen Tyson Jackson and Kirston Pittman and defensive backs Chad Jones and Curtis Taylor.

The Purple squad will feature defensive standouts in Ricky Jean-Francois, Marlon Favorite, Al Woods and Tremaine Johnson. Offensively, the Purple team will feature Terrance Toliver, Jared Mitchell, and Stevan Ridley.

2008 LSU Football Spring Game ? Rosters


No. Name Pos.
1 Brandon LaFell WR
2 Demetrius Byrd WR
3 Chad Jones S
4 Jai Eugene CB
5 Keiland Williams RB
11 Kelvin Sheppard LB
18 Richard Dickson TE
23 Stefoin Francois DB
24 Harry Coleman S
26 Richard Murphy RB
28 Curtis Taylor S
29 Chris Hawkins CB
33 Adam McClure WR
36 David Impastato DB
37 Phillip Pigott RB
40 Caleb Angelle TE
44 Danny McCray DB
45 Quinn Johnson FB
48 Darry Beckwith LB
49 Kirston Pittman DE
57 Richard Dugas OL
65 Lyle Hitt OG
66 Max Holmes OL
70 Ciron Black OT
74 Brett Helms C
78 Joseph Barksdale OT
79 Herman Johnson OG
84 Rahim Alem DE
84 Daniel Graff WR
87 Sidell Corley DL
88 Donald Hains DL
88 Ian Harding WR
92 Drake Nevis DT
93 Tyson Jackson DE


No. Name Pos.
5 Chad Moody DB
13 Ron Brooks DB
22 Orlando Gunn DB
24 Patrick Lipoma RB
25 Brady Glaser WR
25 Phelon Jones DB
27 August Mangin FB
28 Joe Maltempi DB
31 John Williams DB
34 Stevan Ridley RB
35 Chad Baniecki FB
41 Jordon Corbin TE
41 Tasmin Williams DB
42 R.J. Gillen WR
42 Harry Jones DB
43 Blake Nichols RB
43 Lydell Smith LB
45 Zach Elkins DB
47 Tremaine Johnson DE
51 Zach Midulla LB
53 T-Bob Hebert OL
53 Jonathan Nixon LB
55 Kellen Theriot LB
58 Dominique Ceasar LB
60 Will Blackwell OL
61 Trey Helms OL
63 Ryan Miller C
64 Matt Allen OL
68 Josh Dworaczyk OG
76 Jarvis Jones OT
77 Ernest McCoy OT
80 Terrance Toliver WR
85 Alex Russian TE
86 Chris Mitchell WR
87 Jared Mitchell WR
90 Ricky Jean-Francois DT
95 Lazarius Levingston DE
96 Kentravis Aubrey DL
97 Al Woods DT
99 Marlon Favorite DT


No. Name Pos.
3 Drew Alleman PK
6 Colt David PK
12 Jarrett Lee QB
13 Jordan Newell QB
14 Andrew Hatch QB
16 Rodney Scioueaux QB
17 T.C. McCartney QB
30 Josh Jasper P/PK
31 Josh Graham PK
38 Brady Dalfrey P
39 Andrew Crutchfield PK
50 Joey Crappell SNP
98 Trent Hebert PK