Russell Named O'Brien Award Semifinalist

by (@LSUsports)
Russell Among Three SEC QB's on O'Brien Watch List +0
Russell Named O'Brien Award Semifinalist

BATON ROUGE — LSU quarterback JaMarcus Russell is one of 18 players from across the nation named as a semifinalist for the coveted Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award, the Davey O’Brien Foundation announced on Wednesday.

Russell, a junior from Mobile, Ala., has guided the Tigers to a No. 12 national ranking and a 7-2 overall mark this year. Russell is 21-4 all-time as LSU’s starting quarterback.

In nine weeks of action this year, Russell has been named the Southeastern Conference Offensive Player of the Week a league-leading three times. He was most recently named the SEC Offensive Player of the Week on Monday after guiding the Tigers to a 28-24 come-from-behind road win over No. 8 Tennessee.

Russell connected with Early Doucet on the game-winner against the Vols with nine seconds left to cap a 15-play, 80-yard drive for the Tigers. The comeback victory marked the seventh time in his career that Russell has led the Tigers to a win despite trailing in the fourth quarter.

Russell finished the Tennessee game with 247 yards passing after tying a career-best with 24 completions. He also tied a career-high with three TD passes and he rushed for a career-best 71 yards on seven carries. Russell finished the contest with 318 yards of total offense.

For the year, Russell has completed 159 of 229 passes for 2,157 yards and 18 touchdowns. Russell leads the SEC and ranks No. 5 in the nation in pass efficiency. Russell also leads the SEC in total offense with an average of 250 yards per game, a figure that ranks 16th in nation.

For his career, Russell ranks second in school history in TD passes with 42. He’s also No. 5 in LSU history in passing yards with 5,653 and No. 5 in completions with 420.

The O’Brien Selection Committee, made up of a nationwide panel of sportswriters, commentators and former O’Brien Award winners, will vote later this month to narrow the field again. The three finalists will be announced November 21 by the National College Football Awards Association in a joint effort among college football award programs.

The winner of the 2006 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award will be announced on ESPN’s Home Depot College Football Awards Show scheduled for December 7 at 7 p.m. EST.  The show will air live from the Atlantic Dance Hall on The Boardwalk at Walt Disney World in Orlando, Florida. The winner will then be honored on February 19, 2007, at the 30th annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner at The Fort Worth Club in downtown Fort Worth, Texas, along with Paul Hornung, recipient of the 2006 Davey O’Brien Legends Award, and the O’Brien High School Scholarship Award winner.

2006 Davey O’Brien Award Semifinalists
Erik Ainge, Tennessee, Jr., SEC
John Beck, BYU, Sr., MWC
John David Booty, USC, Jr., PAC-10
Colt Brennan, Hawai’i, Jr., WAC
Brian Brohm, Louisville, Jr., Big East
Chad Henne, Michigan, Jr., Big Ten
Kevin Kolb, Houston, Sr., C-USA
Chris Leak, Florida, Sr., SEC
Nate Longshore, California, So., PAC-10
Colt McCoy, Texas, Fr., Big 12
Tyler Palko, Pittsburgh, Sr., Big East
Brady Quinn, Notre Dame, Sr., Ind.
Bobby Reid, Oklahoma State, So., Big 12
JaMarcus Russell, LSU, Jr., SEC
Troy Smith, Ohio State, Sr., Big Ten
John Stocco, Wisconsin, Sr., Big Ten
Pat White, West Virginia, So., Big East
Jared Zabransky, Boise State, Sr., WAC