Russell Among Three SEC QB's on O'Brien Watch List

by (@LSUsports)
Russell Among Three SEC QB's on O'Brien Watch List

BATON ROUGE — LSU quarterback JaMarcus Russell has been named to the preseason watch list for the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award, the O’Brien Selection Committee announced on Monday.

The Davey O’Brien Award is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback. It’s named in honor of the late Davey O’Brien, who in 1938 became the first player to win the Heisman, Walter Camp and Maxwell Awards in the same season.

Russell is one of 34 candidates, including 19 seniors, 12 juniors and three sophomores named to the list.

Russell enters his junior season with the Tigers with a 14-2 career mark as LSU’s starting quarterback. Last year, the Mobile, Ala., native threw 2,443 yards and 15 touchdowns in leading the Tigers to the SEC Western Division title and a berth in the league’s championship game.

For his career, Russell has completed 261 of 455 passes for 3,496 yards and 24 touchdowns.

Russell is one of three Southeastern Conference quarterbacks on the list. He’s joined by Florida’s Chris Leak and Auburn’s Brandon Cox.

2006 Davey O’Brien Award Watch List
Jerry Babb, Louisiana-Lafayette, Sr., Sun Belt
Jeff Ballard, TCU, Sr., MWC
John Beck, BYU, Sr., MWC
John David Booty, USC, Jr., PAC-10
Colt Brennan, Hawaii , Jr., WAC
Alex Brink, Washington State , Jr., PAC-10
Brian Brohm, Louisville , Jr., Big East
Shaun Carney, Air Force, Jr., MWC
Brandon Cox, Auburn , Jr., SEC
Trent Edwards, Stanford, Sr., PAC-10
Luke Getsy, Akron , Sr., MAC
Graham Harrell, Texas Tech, So., Big 12
Omar Haugabook, Troy , Jr., Sun Belt
Phil Horvath, Northern Illinois , Sr., MAC
Brian Johnson, Utah , Jr., MWC
Kevin Kolb, Houston , Sr., C-USA
Chris Leak, Florida , Sr., SEC
Clint Marks, MTSU, Sr., Sun Belt
Bret Meyer, Iowa State , Jr., Big 12
Josh Padrick, FIU, Sr., Sun Belt
Tyler Palko, Pittsburgh , Sr., Big East
Jordan Palmer, UTEP, Sr., C-USA
Brady Quinn, Notre Dame, Sr., Ind.
Jeff Rowe, Nevada , Sr., WAC
JaMarcus Russell, LSU, Jr., SEC
Paul Smith, Tulsa , Jr., C-USA
Troy Smith, Ohio State , Sr., Big Ten
Drew Stanton, Michigan State , Sr., Big Ten
Drew Tate, Iowa , Sr., Big Ten
Zac Taylor, Nebraska , Sr., Big 12
Drew Weatherford, Florida State , So., ACC
Pat White, West Virginia , So., Big East
Kyle Wright, Miami , Jr., ACC
Jared Zabransky, Boise State , Sr., WAC