Russell Named to Manning Award Watch List

by (@LSUsports)
Russell Named to Manning Award Watch List

BATON ROUGE — LSU quarterback JaMarcus Russell has been named as one of 22 players to the Manning Award Watch List, the Sugar Bowl Committee announced on Wednesday.

The award, which was created in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning, will be presented at the conclusion of the college football bowl season. The Manning Award is the only quarterback award that takes into consideration the candidates’ bowl performance.

Russell is one of five Southeastern Conference quarterbacks on the list joining Erik Ainge of Tennessee, Brandon Cox of Auburn, Chris Leak of Florida and Blake Mitchell of South Carolina.

Russell enters his junior season with the Tigers with a 14-2 career mark as LSU’s starting quarterback. Last year, the Mobile, Ala., native threw 2,443 yards and 15 touchdowns in leading the Tigers to the SEC Western Division title and a berth in the league’s championship game.

For his career, Russell has completed 261 of 455 passes for 3,496 yards and 24 touchdowns.

All-Time Manning Award Recipients
2005 – Vince Young (Texas)
2004 – Matt Leinart (USC)

2006 Manning Award Watch List

Player (School)
Erik Ainge ( Tennessee)
Reggie Ball (Georgia Tech)
Shawn Bell (Baylor)
Colt Brennan ( Hawaii)
Alex Brink ( Washington State)
Brian Brohm ( Louisville)
Brandon Cox ( Auburn)
Chad Henne ( Michigan)
Chris Leak ( Florida)
Bret Meyer ( Iowa State)
Blake Mitchell ( South Carolina)
Curtis Painter (Purdue)
Jordan Palmer (UTEP)
Brady Quinn (Notre Dame)
JaMarcus Russell (LSU)
Troy Smith ( Ohio State)
Drew Stanton ( Michigan State)
Drew Tate ( Iowa)
Zac Taylor ( Nebraska)
Drew Weatherford ( Florida State)
Patrick White ( West Virginia)
Kyle Wright ( Miami)