Alex Box Stadium to Play Host to 16th-Straight NCAA Regional

by (@LSUsports)
Alex Box Stadium to Play Host to 16th-Straight NCAA Regional

BATON ROUGE — LSU’s Alex Box Stadium has been selected as an NCAA Baseball Regional host site for the 16th straight season, the NCAA Division I Baseball Committee announced Sunday.

LSU will play host to an NCAA regional tournament for the 16th straight season and for the 17th time overall. The NCAA Baton Rouge Regional begins on Friday, June 3 and continues through either Sunday, June 5 or Monday, June 6.

“We’re very pleased to be selected as a host site,” said LSU coach Smoke Laval. “It’s a tribute to our players for the success they’ve enjoyed this season. I’m especially happy for our seniors, because it gives them another opportunity to play in Alex Box Stadium. This will be their fourth straight home regional, and they’ve also played in two super regionals at home. I think it’s great for them to have the chance to experience the incredible post-season atmosphere in Alex Box.”

The Baton Rouge Regional will feature LSU and three other teams in a double-elimination format. The teams, seedings and brackets for the Baton Rouge Regional and the entire NCAA Tournament field will be announced at 10:30 a.m. Monday on ESPN.

NCAA Baton Rouge Regional tickets will go on sale at 8 a.m. Monday to LSU students and to fans that are on the LSU baseball season ticket waiting list. Tickets will go on sale at 8 a.m. Wednesday to the general public.

Regional ticket booklets are $75 (gold seats), $60 (grandstand seats) and $50 (bleacher seats). All orders will include a processing fee.

Ticket orders may be placed by phone at 225-578-2184 or 800-960-8587, or tickets may be purchased at

Orders may also be placed in person at the LSU ticket office weekdays from 8 a.m.-5 p.m. The ticket office is located on the first floor of the LSU athletic administration building.

Payments may be made by cash, check, VISA, MasterCard or American Express.

The NCAA Division I Baseball Committee will set the entire 64-team bracket Monday through both the super regionals and the first round of the Men’s College World Series. The committee will not reseed the field after play begins. Selection of the eight super regional hosts will be announced on the ESPN Bottom Line Tuesday, June 7 at 11 a.m. Central time.

The 16 regional sites announced Sunday, with host institutions and records through Saturday, May 28, are as follows:

Arizona State (33-22), Tempe, Arizona
Baylor (39-20), Waco, Texas
Cal State Fullerton (41-14), Fullerton, California
Clemson (39-21), Clemson, South Carolina
Florida (40-20), Gainesville, Florida
Florida State (50-18), Tallahassee, Florida
Georgia Tech (41-16), Atlanta, Georgia
LSU (38-20), Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Long Beach State (36-20), Long Beach, California
Miami (Florida) (38-17-1), Coral Gables, Florida
Mississippi (44-17), Oxford, Mississippi
Nebraska (50-13), Lincoln, Nebraska
Oregon State (41-9), Corvallis, Oregon
Tennessee (41-19), Knoxville, Tennessee
Texas (45-14), Austin, Texas
Tulane (50-9), New Orleans, Louisiana
All regionals will be held on campus sites.

By virtue of being awarded a regional, nine of the host institutions also have been selected as at-large teams to the 64-team field. Arizona State, Clemson, Florida, Florida State, LSU, Long Beach State, Miami (Fla.), Tennessee and Texas have made the field as at-large selections.

Five teams could win automatic berths Sunday in their respective conference tournaments. Baylor, Georgia Tech, Mississippi, Nebraska and Tulane could clinch automatic berths by winning their conference tournament championship, which are scheduled for Sunday afternoon. A loss in those tournament championship games makes them an at-large selection.

Cal State Fullerton and Oregon State already have clinched automatic berths by virtue of winning the Big West Conference and Pacific-10 Conference, respectively.

Oregon State will host a regional for the first time, while Long Beach State, Mississippi and Tulane are hosting for the second time in school history. This will be the 24th time that Florida State has hosted a regional, while Miami and Texas are hosting for the 21st time since the NCAA went to the regional format in 1975.

LSU is hosting a regional for the 17th time, while Arizona State (16th), Clemson (10th), Georgia Tech (seventh), Florida (seventh), Cal State Fullerton (fifth), Tennessee (fifth), Nebraska (fourth), and Baylor (third) have hosted in the past as well.

Seven sites (Cal State Fullerton, Florida State, Georgia Tech, LSU, Miami, Mississippi and Texas) also hosted in 2004. Long Beach State hosted a super regional last year, but did not host a regional.

Thirty Division I conferences receive an automatic berth in the field of 64, along with 34 at-large selections.

The 59th Men’s College World Series begins play Friday, June 17, at Rosenblatt Stadium in Omaha, Nebraska.