LSU Leads SEC With Four Scholar-Athletes of the Year

by (@LSUsports)
LSU Leads SEC With Four Scholar-Athletes of the Year

BATON ROUGE — With pitcher Jason Determann earning Southeastern Conference Scholar-Athlete of the Year honors in baseball on Tuesday, LSU has now had four players recognized as the top student-athlete in their respective sport this year by the league office.

The four SEC Scholar-Athletes of the Year for LSU ranks first in the league, followed by Florida with three, and Tennessee, South Carolina, Georgia, and Arkansas with two each.

Men’s and women’s track and field scholar-athletes of the year are the only remaining awards yet to be handed out by the league office.

Joining Determann as LSU’s SEC Scholar-Athletes of the Year in 2004-05 are Chelsea Agar in women’s soccer, Brandon Bass in men’s basketball and Paul White in men’s tennis. All voting for the SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year Awards are done by the league’s head coaches.

The four SEC Scholar-Athletes continues a banner season in the classroom for LSU athletics as the Tigers ranked third in the league in number of student-athletes on the SEC Winter Academic Honor Roll with 37. Most recently, LSU had 61 student-athletes earn their degrees a week ago.