Tigers Place Two on NFCA All-South Region

by LSUsports.net (@LSUsports)
Tigers Place Two on NFCA All-South Region

BATON ROUGE — The LSU softball team placed a pair of athletes on the 33-member 2005 Louisville Slugger/National Fastipitch Coaches Association All-South Region teams.

Junior designated player Lauren Castle earned was named to the All-South first team for the second consecutive season, while junior outfielder Camille Harris was named to the second team for the first time in her career.

The Louisiana Hitter of the Week on March 9, Castle tied for the team lead in batting average at .367 and led the Tigers in hits this season with 62. The Purple and Gold Challenge Most Valuable Player also ranked sixth in the SEC in doubles. Against Mississippi State, she broke the LSU single-game record for hits with a 5-for-5 performance at the plate. In addition, she tied the single-game record for runs scored with four.

A native of Lafayette, Castle tied for the team lead with 19 multiple-hit games and also recorded six multiple-RBI games on the season. She also tied for the second-best overall hitting streak on the team at eight games.

A second-team All-Southeastern Conference selection, Harris was a member of the USA Softball Player of the Year Watch List. Along with a .338 batting average and seven home runs, she broke the LSU single season record, leads the SEC and ranks ninth in the NCAA in hit by pitches this year.

With 21 stolen bases, the Hendersonville, Tenn., native also tied for the team lead in stolen bases and ranked in the top 10 in the SEC in on base percentage, runs scored, walks and stolen bases. She recorded 13 multiple-hit games and three multiple-RBI games on the year. At South Carolina earlier in the year, she knocked in the game-winning run on a solo home run in the top of the eighth inning.

Both players will now advance to the national ballot for the opportunity to be named to the NFCA All-America team. The All-America team will be determined on May 30 and announced prior to the start of the Women’s College World Series in the first week of June.

All-South Region First Team
Monica Abbott                          P              Tennessee

Stephanie VanBrakle               P              Alabama

Ashley Courtney                      C             Alabama

Paige Jones                             1B            Auburn

Lauren Boone                         2B            Sam Houston State

Courtney Bures                       SS           Mississippi State

Kristi Durant                             3B            Tennessee

Lauren Castle                        DP           LSU

Holly Currie                             UT           Auburn

Sarah Fekete                           OF           Tennessee

Danyelle Gomez                      OF           UL-Lafayette

Jennifer Davis                          OF           Texas-San Antonio


All-South Region Second Team
Brooke Mitchell                        P              UL-Lafayette

Sarah Pauley                          P              Texas A & M-Corpus Christi

Jocelyn McCallum                    P              Troy State

Aja Sherman                            P              Louisville

Carly Kellam                            P              Jacksonville State

Lacey Swarthout                      P              Tennessee-Chattanooga

Shalayne Blythe                      P              Sam Houston State

Tamra Howren                        C             Troy State

Beth Jordan                             1B            McNeese State

Brittany Bryant                         2B            UL-Lafayette

Lindsay Schutzler                    SS           Tennessee

Courtney Moore                      SS           Louisville

Kristen Glowacz                       3B            Houston

Jessica Rogers                        3B            Texas-San Antonio

Jordan Praytor                        DP           Alabama

Jennifer Jessup                        UT           Mississippi State

Jill Robertson                           OF           UL-Lafayette

Camille Harris                        OF           LSU

Jackie Wilkins                           OF           Alabama

Maigin Alexander                    OF           Jacksonville State

Janine Sprague                       OF           East Tennessee State