Tigers Place Two on All-SEC Softball Team, Face Top-seeded Georgia at 6:30 p.m.

by LSUsports.net (@LSUsports)
Tigers Place Two on All-SEC Softball Team, Face Top-seeded Georgia at 6:30 p.m.

GAINESVILLE, Fla. — The LSU softball team placed two players in the All-Southeastern Conference teams as the Tigers begin defense of their SEC Tournament championship in a rematch of the 2004 title game against Georgia on Thursday at 6:30 p.m. (CT) at the Florida Softball Field.

Sophomore Emily Turner and junior Camille Harris garnered All-SEC second team honors for LSU. Harris also earned All-SEC second team honors as a freshman, while Turner was a member of the SEC All-Freshman team a year ago.

The first round game, and all of the SEC Tournament games, can be heard on the LSU Sports Network in Baton Rouge on Country Legends 107.3 FM and on the internet at www.LSUsports.net.

“I thought we played well against Georgia,” said LSU head coach Yvette Girouard. “Obviously Georgia is the elite of the SEC and just finds a way to win, but I thought all three games against them were very well played. I guess if we had to draw any opponent, then we should be pleased to have drawn Georgia.

“We have to go out there and play our game and limit the mistakes that we can control. If we play hard and perform like we are capable of performing, then I think we should be in a position to win.”

A three-time Louisiana Pitcher of the Week and April 18 SEC Pitcher of the Week, Turner has posted a 16-14 overall record with a 2.29 earned run average. The 2005 Tiger Classic and Purple and Gold Challenge All-Tournament team selection ranks in the top eight in the league in opponent’s batting average, innings pitched, strikeouts, strikeouts looking, wins, appearances and games started.

She has posted five double-figure strikeout performances this season, including a career-best 14 against Columbia. Between April 7 and April 16, the Chula Vista, Calif. native threw 26 consecutive innings without allowing an earned run and has recorded a complete-game two-hitter and four complete-game three-hitters on the season.

A member of the USA Softball Player of the Year preseason watch list, Harris was named to the 2005 Purple and Gold Challenge All-Tournament team earlier this season. The outfielder from Hendersonville, Tenn., broke the LSU single-season record and ranks ninth in the NCAA in hit by pitches per game. In addition, she ranks in the top 10 in the SEC in on base percentage, runs scored, walks and stolen bases.

On 12 occasions, she has recorded multiple-hit games and twice posted multiple-RBI games. Harris knocked in the game-winning run in extra innings at South Carolina earlier this season and ranks in the top 10 in career hit by pitches, stolen bases, walks, home runs, triples, runs scored and RBIs in school history.

The Tigers (30-21, 12-18 SEC) enter the tournament as the eighth seed after finishing the season in a tie with Mississippi State in seventh place overall, a half game behind South Carolina in sixth place.

After claiming their second SEC regular season championship, the Bulldogs (48-12, 26-4 SEC) enter as the tournament’s top seed, ranked eighth nationally. The Tigers were swept by Georgia in Athens early in the season in three close contests, falling 3-2, 2-0 and 4-1 in the three-game series.

In eight previous SEC Tournament appearances, LSU holds a league-best 27-8 (.771) record. The Tigers won titles in 1999, 2001, 2002 and 2004 and LSU has advanced to the championship game each of the last six seasons.

If LSU defeats Georgia, the Tigers will advance to play the winner of the Tennessee-Florida game on Saturday at 6:30 p.m. (CT). A loss sends LSU into the loser’s bracket against the loser of the Lady Vol-Gator game on Saturday at 12:30 p.m. (CT).

The four-day tournament will conclude with the championship game on Sunday at 1 p.m. (CT). That game will be broadcast on FSN Southwest in Baton Rouge on cable channel 38.

SEC Postseason Awards

First Team All-SEC
P – Monica Abbott, Tennessee
P – Michelle Green, Georgia
C – Sara Dean, Auburn
IF – Paige Jones, Auburn
IF – Courtney Bures, Mississippi State
IF – Megan McAllister, Georgia
IF – Kristi Durant, Tennessee
OF – Lindsey Cameron, Florida
OF – Jackie Wilkins, Alabama
OF – Sarah Fekete, Tennessee
OF – Sara Ghezzi, Auburn
DH/UT – Kim Wendland, Georgia

Second Team All-SEC
P – Stephanie VanBrakle, Alabama
P – Emily Turner, LSU
C – Ashley Courtney, Alabama
IF – Meghan Cornett, South Carolina
IF – Melissa Zick, Florida
IF – Jessica Doucette, Georgia
IF – Staci Ramsey, Alabama
IF – Lindsey Schutzler, Tennessee
OF – Courtney Knight, Georgia
OF – Camille Harris, LSU
OF – Rachel LeMaster, Arkansas
DH/UT – Holly Currie, Auburn

Freshman All-SEC
P – Megan Rhodes, Tennessee
P – Chrissy Owens, Alabama
C – Shannon Doepking, Tennessee
IF – Courtney Bures, Mississippi State
IF – Jessica Doucette, Georgia
IF – Dani Woods, Alabama
IF – Katie Vickers, Georgia
IF – Tonya Callahan, Tennessee
IF – Chloe Kloezeman, Ole Miss
OF – Jessica Josker, South Carolina
DH/UT – Jordan Praytor, Alabama

Player of the Year: Kim Wendland, Georgia
Co-Pitcher of the Year: Monica Abbott, Tennessee and Michelle Green, Georgia
Coach of the Year: Lu Harris-Camper, Georgia
Freshman of the Year: Courtney Bures, Mississippi State
Scholar-Athletes of the Year: Ashley Smith, South Carolina

SEC Tournament Schedule

Day One – Thursday, May 12
Game 1 No. 3 Auburn vs. No. 6 South Carolina 10 p.m. (CT)
Game 2 No. 2 Alabama vs. No. 7 Mississippi State 12:30 p.m. (CT)
Game 3 No. 4 Tennessee vs. No. 5 Florida 4 p.m. (CT)
Game 4 No. 1 Georgia vs. No. 8 LSU 6:30 p.m. (CT)

Day Two – Friday, May 13
Game 5 Game 1 Loser vs. Game 2 Loser 10 a.m. (CT)
Game 6 Game 3 Loser vs. Game 4 Loser 12:30 p.m. (CT)
Game 7 Game 1 Winner vs. Game 2 Winner 4 p.m. (CT)
Game 8 Game 3 Winner vs. Game 4 Winner 6:30 p.m. (CT)

Day Three – Saturday, May 14
Game 9 Game 5 Winner vs. Game 8 Loser 12:30 p.m. (CT)
Game 10 Game 6 Winner vs. Game 7 Loser 10 a.m. (CT)
Game 11 Game 7 Winner vs. Game 9 Winner 4 p.m. (CT)
Game 12 Game 8 Winner vs. Game 10 Winner 6:30 p.m. (CT)

Day Four – Sunday, May 15
Game 13 Same as Game 11 (If necessary) 9:30 a.m. (CT)
Game 14 Same as Game 12 (If necessary) 8 a.m. (CT)
Game 15 Championship Game 1 p.m. (CT)